We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of The Alma Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alma Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Colne B&B and Inns
Barrowford, Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The inn sits on top of a hill with fantastic views of the local country side. A major extension and redevelopment took place a number of years ago and as a result you get the "feel" of an old inn but inside everything is fresh and modern.

Staff were numerous , attentive and friendly. The menue was large and varied. The food was tasty and of a good size! I would recommend it .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    39
    15
    16
    17
See reviews for
62
79
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Inn is very homely and relaxing. I had dinner here and the food was delicious!!!! You definitely get your moneys worth in quality and quantity! Service was good and from this experience, if I need to stay in the area this would be my first choice! I have heard excellent reviews from friends who have stayed over at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenMc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We called in for lunch and was very pleased with the reception. The young gentleman was excellent we were offered drinks and shown to a table by the lovely fire. Food was fab as was service. Will def return I usually use the inn at whitewall but this was equal if not better. My smokey mate loved the shelter. Only minus a waitress in her socks and flip flops flopping noisely around

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for just one night as visiting relatives in the area. Lovely room, spotlessly clean & beautifully furnished with all amenities that you could possibly need including radio with i-pod docking, coffee maker plus kettle for tea and coffee making. Moulton Brown shampoo/soap etc. and lovely fluffy white dressing gowns and slippers provided. Lovely room with lovely views (room 4) Who could ask for more??? The food in the bar is excellent if you want good 'pub grub' well cooked using quality local produce. And the breakfast served the following morning was probably one of the best breakfasts we have eaten in any hotel/b&b. Will without a shadow of a doubt be staying there again next time we are visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1956linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

There wasn't a think that could have been better on our recent stay. Nothing was too much for the staff or the kitchen who prepared something for me completely off menu and gluten free! The rooms are stunning, packed with amenities and faultless in evey regard. I honestly can not recommend this place enough. Dare I say it "too cheap"

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldnGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed as part of a wedding party. Lovely room, plenty of space and was great to be able to retire later on!
Nice breakfast in the morning too and the staff were friendly and helpful.
It would be good of the rooms could be ready in time for before the ceremony so that we could dump out bags and then not have to go back to the car but this really isn't a biggy and is understandable when they are busy!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uk_traveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went To wedding there and stayed over it was excellent 10 out of 10 The food and service was like a top quality hotel and would definitely stay there again I would recommend it to everybody good old Lancashire hospitality

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scruplesmenswear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colne
2.1 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
261 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
9.8 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
756 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rye Flatt Farmhouse
Rye Flatt Farmhouse
#3 of 5 in Colne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Inn

Property: The Alma Inn
Address: Emmott Lane | Laneshawbridge, Colne BB8 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Colne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colne
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel Colne
The Alma Inn Colne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing