We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheshunt
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for buisness training in April and was excited at first but once entering the hotel it was such a let down . The hotel looks amazing as you approach but the conference side is a lot different, there is also nothing there to do apart from a tiny gym and a jacuzzi which was not working when I was there. It's miles away from shops so unless you drive down you are pretty much stuck there!
The room itself was a typical Devere room, comfy bed, modern and stylish room with a good size bathroom.
The stable block is lovely and worth paying extra if you can, it's away from the hotel but so much nicer and gives it a more expensive feel.
Huge walk in shower but no bath, quite a tiny room but was a lot nicer than the hotel.
The food was quite poor though, nice selection but the service was terrible, the bar staff couldn't provide clean glasses and when you complained they rolled their eyes.
Hotel needs a good refurb and some staff training wouldn't go amiss either!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turnerfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Turnerfamily6,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at Theobalds Park.

Firstly I would like to apologize for the poor service that you received at the bar, this is not the type of service that we usually provide and I have passed your comments onto our bar management team.

I am however pleased to read that you enjoyed staying in our riding's bedrooms, they are out newest bedrooms and are decorated to the same De Vere standard as the rest of our bedrooms within the Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that our hotel location and conference decoration isn't to your liking and that you found it hard to get around in the local area.

We are located straight off the M25 and have great local transport links in to London from our hotel. We are also only a few miles away from local superstores Tesco and M & S which is just a short five minuet drive. If you do have the pleasure of staying with us again please contact reception and we will be more than happy to accommodate you and help you reach one of these destinations.

Thank you again for your time and feedback

Kind regards

The Theobalds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 893 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

variable mobile signal in bar, none in bedroom - massively inconvenient. Free Wifi over-engineered and neither laptop or ipad able to connect
Hotel otherwise ok, but will not return because of communication issues.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Steve W,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us here at Theobalds Park.

I am sorry to hear that you would not consider staying with us again due to poor signal problems from your network mobile provider. Unfortunately this would be an issue to take up with your network provider, as we do not have any control over their signal service. I am how ever glad to hear that our free Wifi service did help improve the poor service from your mobile provider.

Thank you again for your feedback

With kind regards
The Theobalds Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went to a family wedding. The grounds are beautiful and the outdoor ceremony was beautiful. However the building is looking very tired and there was just one ramp at the side for disabled people. The property is surrounded by gravel on which it is almost impossible to push a wheelchair, buggy or use a motorised disabled scooter. Very disappointing although the staff were only too willing to help as they could see what a problem there was.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Susan C,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay here at Theobalds Park.

We hope you enjoyed the family wedding here with us and I am glad to read that you found our grounds to be beautiful.

I am however disappointed to read that you didn’t find us disabled friendly. The ramp that you refer to is to enable anyone with mobility difficulties to reach our mansion house area, where weddings take place. Unfortunately we are only able to put a ramp here as it is only two steps to climb and the mansion house is a listed building, meaning we can only put so many lifts in place.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel is ok, staff not overly friendly from my recent experience and reception area feels a little tired. Rooms are ok and clean, however shower didn't work fully on last stay. Convenient and local for business.

Restaurant serves good food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Richard J,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay here with us at Theobalds Park.

We are pleased to hear that you found the location of our venue to be convenient for your business needs, and that you enjoyed the food here during your visit.

I am however disappointed to hear that you didn’t find our staff to be of a friendly nature as this is something we are usually highly praised for.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

The Theobalds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here with 15 of my friends for my 50th birthday it was such a lovely experience. The staff were so friendly couldn't do enough for us especially Holly our waitress our glasses were never empty! We hired the boardroom for private dinning would highly recommend. The rooms were spacious and clean. You get free coffee/tea/lattes on tap in all the lounges and bars, and because England were playing they had made little England cupcakes such a brilliant touch! The hotel is elegant and set in beautiful grounds, and if you support Tottenham Hotspurs a very short walk from their training ground! The extremely friendly staff made my experience extra special. Thank you Theobalds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Tracey 15,


Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your 50th birthday celebration here with us at Theobalds Park!

I have passed on your comments to our team whom are just as delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay here and dinner in the boardroom.

We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our extra touches during the England football game! We have tried to keep in the spirit of the world cup and it is nice to hear they were appreciated and enjoyed by yourselves.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

The Theobalds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel was nice and the food was good. However the rooms were a bit tired and small? Overall the hotel needed some maintenance. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay. Lovely grounds and well located.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Shirley T,


Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us here at Theobalds Park!

I am pleased to hear that you found our venue to be of a good location and that our staffs were able to provide you with a friendly service!

I am disappointed to hear that you found parts of our hotel to be looking tired, we are currently having a great deal of refurbishment at the hotel and I am pleased to say that we should be looking back to our normal selves in no time.

Thank you again for your review and constructive feedback, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

The Theobalds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was our second visit to Devere Theobalds Park, we complained about it last time and were given free nights b&b by the management which we took last night 14th June 2014. The hotel is located in park land close to the M25 and has a conference facility. There were wedding guests, birthday party guests, and football supporters at the hotel. We were put in quite a decent sized room up 6 flights of stairs in the mansion house. This was quiet, and the views nice, although decor was tired. The TV would only pick up a small number of channels, some very fuzzy others absent, and there was not enough tea and milk for more than 1 cup each. There were groups of loud teenage boys, and smokers, drinkers, and families around. Breakfast was a farce, we had to wait for a table to become available, no fruit juice, and not much table service. Outside they have some parasol tables and old metal sea container or two and a portaloo

Room Tip: Try a different hotel unless you like 6 flights of stairs up the rooms where there are people nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edevalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Edevalera


Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here with us at Theobalds park.

I am disappointed to hear that your second stay with us wasn't satisfactory and that your faith wasn't restored upon return with us.

I apologise that the groups in house that evening weren't to your liking but unfortunately we do cater for all kinds of business and welcome all of our guests with welcome arms. That weekend was the first England football match and we did get in the spirit of celebrating this in the bar area!

I apologise that you didn’t enjoy the location of your bedroom, however it does confuse me to the six flights of stairs you had to tackle as your room was in the 200 corridor, which is only up one flight of stairs. We did however allocate your bedroom as you requested as far away from the bar as possible.

Thank you again for your review and I apologise again for the disappointed you experienced whilst staying with us again.

Kind regards

The Theobalds Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheshunt
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
372 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
2.8 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
644 reviews
3.7 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Theobalds Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Theobalds Estate

Address: Theobalds Park Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt EN7 5HW, England (Formerly De Vere Theobalds Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Cheshunt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheshunt
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Theobalds Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your De Vere Theobalds Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theobalds Park Hertfordshire
Hotel Theobalds Park
De Vere Theobalds Estate Cheshunt, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing