We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheshunt
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Was here for one night on a conference & as a female on my own wasn't too pleased at being outside the stable block with no other people. lock was stiff & I had trouble locking the door, lights didn't work properly & were dim & no phone signal in room. Staff were friendly though, food was good especially breakfast. Would have been nice to have kept conference members together as we were very spread out. I always seem to expect to much from hotels!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jezamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Jezamine,

Thank you for your recent post following your stay here at Theobalds Park.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and found our staff to be friendly. I have passed your kind words on to our head chef and other members of the team.

I am however disappointed to hear that your bedroom allocation was not satisfactory and that you were not placed by any other members of your group. Our reception team usually allocate all groups together so that this situation does not arise. I apologise on this occasion that this was not the case and that you felt uncomfortable. I have spoken to my team regarding this issue to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the poor lighting and difficulty that you have recently had with your bedroom lock. I have passed this information onto our property manager whom is now looking into the lightly and working on improving this for guests moving around the hotel, especially during the winter months.

I hope that we have the pleasure of you company again in the near future where we would be more than happy to ensure your stay is more satisfactory and comfortable.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    248
    175
    118
    67
See reviews for
143
282
24
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

One of our group had to change rooms because it was filthy. Three meals ordered, two were absolutely not as advertised, third one was tepid, lots of excuses from the chef and lots of apologies for staff, very poor

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vad282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Vad282,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Theobalds Park.

I am so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectation and that you felt that your stay was so unsatisfying.

I thank you for your constructive comments regarding a member of your group having to move rooms and the dinner you received being tepid and not as advertised. Both Head Chef and Head House keeper are currently investigating into these issues and putting in place new standards to ensure that this does not happen again, that all food is as advertised and all rooms are only to an excellent level of cleanliness for our guests.

I hope to see you again in the near future where we can successfully restore your faith with us here at Theobalds and ensure that you and your group have a much more enjoyable and comfortable stay.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheshunt hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I got a discounted room on their website for £20 which was a bargain and looking at the photos on the site i thought id be stepping into a magical luxury hotel. The main house you see on the photos isnt where the hotel rooms are. You are stuck away in the horrible building that is really dated. the rooms where clean enough and the bed and pillow were super comfortable but that was it. The tree house looked awesome but that was closed.
If I had paid mnore than £20 I would have been really unhappy but for a discounted rate it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Mariaant,

Thank you for your review you posted following your recent stay with us here at Theobalds Park.
I am so sorry to hear that you wasn't impressed with your stay and that we didn't meet your expectations. I seek to assure you that all of your comments have been passed onto our team and dealt with accordingly.

We have three areas in which our bedrooms are allocated, the bedrooms in the mansion house in the photos were unfortunately all in use due to a private function taking place in that specific area. We try to allocate all of our guests so that they stay comfortably with us and aren't disturbed by any other events taking place during their stay.

I thank you for your constructive comments regarding the decor in certain parts of the hotel, I do assure you these comments have been taken on board and we currently have an ongoing programme to upgrade the decor throughout the hotel.

I do hope that we see you again in the near future and have the pleasure of your company again where you can witness the changes being made and experience one of our Mansion House bedrooms.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

After a very traumatic day and a long drive we arrived at the hotel at around 9.00pm on Sunday evening Sophie, on reception seeing my wife a little upset immediately checked us in and showed us to our room. For one so young she showed great customer care awareness and professionalism for which I would like to thank her.

Just for this kind of service I would strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Lowena7,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us here at Theobalds Park. I am sorry to hear you had such a traumatic day but delighted to hear that Sophie turned it around for you and was able to give you great customer care and shine with her professionalism.

Sophie is one of our rising stars on the De Vere graduate programme at Theobalds, I have shared your kind words with her and she is delighted to of helped you during your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband Daughter and our baby granddaughter and myself stayed at this lovely hotel 31st January2014.. We were attending a party in Cheshunt and were given this hotel as the closest. On arrival we were greeted so pleasantly, our rooms were warm, comfortable and large. The bathroom is a little dated but the shower was hot and the towels clean and plentiful. We had a meal in the bar area which was lovely, again staff were pleasant and welcoming.
Unfortunately we arrived back from our friends party and my 4month old granddaughter was feeling un well and we could not console her crying, we had a word with the night staff and they rung an ambulance for her. As we wait for the paramedic the staff were wonderful, they came to check how she was and brought us drinks and were so concerned. The paramedic was happy for us to try and comfort her and not take her to the hospital... Eventually she settled and was better this morning. The breakfast was lovely well cooked and plenty of it, good collection and again staff were lovely.
All in all we were thrilled, apart from the baby being poorly we had a great time, would defiantly stay again and would recommend to friends...
Thank you to the wonderful night staff, you were understanding and concerned.. Dale and Aaron...
Apologies to any guests who were disturbed by our baby, she is usually such a good baby, but she was so unwell. I hope your experience at this lovely hotel was not clouded.. Best wishes

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindymitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear MindyMitt,

I cannot thank you enough for your kind words following your recent stay with us here at Theobalds Park. Your review was such a joy to read and a great reflection of the customer love and care we provide at Theobalds.

I’m delighted to hear that your granddaughter was soon feeling better and back on the mend. I have passed your kind comments on to both Aaron and Dayle whom were so happy to of helped with yours and your family’s needs during this time. I have also passed on your kind words to the rest of the staff whom were of service that evening and that helped made your stay so thrilling.

Thank you for your recommendation to your friends and family, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future and are glad to hear all is now well.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, ended up in one of the rooms in the stable complex, clean, tidy and comfy. Ate in the bar and the food was a good standard. Efficient staff at check in and in bar.

It was a freezing night and the room was quite cold when I arrived, turned up the radiator and then found another heater and was soon as snug as a bug in a rug.

The walk to the main complex would have been wonderful on a summers evening, and I plan to return in the summer to do just that.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Richard A,

Thank you kindly for your review following your recent stay with us at Theobalds Park.

I am very pleased to hear that you had a good stay and found all of our staff to be helpful and efficient; I have shared your kind words with all of our team.

The riding's is a lovely building to be placed in, especially in the summer time, the courtyard can be a great place to sit and have a few drinks on a summers evening. Please do let us know the next date of your arrival and we will be more than happy to make sure that you receive another room situated in the riding's.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas having got a room via one of their sales - well worth watching out for as the room was only £20.

The room itself was very well appointed - a lovely big bed, firm mattress but soft top, plenty of pillows and a lovely warm duvet. There was a desk, armchair and table, tea and coffee making facilities, dressing area, iron and board and an in-room safe.

Room service offers a fairly simple menu; burgers, pizzas, sandwiches and so on. We had a pizza with pulled pork on top which was delicious. There are tea and coffee freely available in the bar, along with packets of biscuits and fruit which is a very nice touch.

Breakfast is a reasonable price and the food was good, with plenty of choice. My only small complaint is that we had not know it would be possible to have breakfast delivered to our room which we would have preferred - we only found out room service breakfast was possible when we saw it being delivered to someone else's room on our way back from breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room starting in 5xx - I'm led to believe these rooms are better as they are in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Miss Neophyte,

Thank you kindly for your review regarding your recent stay with us here at Theobalds Park. I am so pleased to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us and particularly that you enjoyed our room service and free flowing coffee points around the hotel.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the near future where you can enjoy breakfast from the luxury of your bedroom this time around!

I have shared all of your kind words and comments back to my team here at Theobalds.
With Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheshunt
2.5 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Cheshunt
Travelodge Cheshunt
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
710 reviews
4.5 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Theobalds Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Theobalds Estate

Property: De Vere Theobalds Estate
Address: Theobalds Park Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt EN7 5HW, England (Formerly De Vere Theobalds Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Cheshunt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheshunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Theobalds Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your De Vere Theobalds Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theobalds Park Hertfordshire
Hotel Theobalds Park
De Vere Theobalds Estate Cheshunt, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing