We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxed and friendly.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buck's Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meonstoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buck's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Meonstoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxed and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We found this hotel a gem of an overnight stop on the South Downs Way. Its conveniently situated about halfway between Winchester and Buriton. It has only a few rooms so booking is advisable. On arrival we were able to enjoy hot baths, and use teamaking facilities in the room. The meals and drinks available downstairs in one of two bars were excellent. There's a selection of books available to peruse. The friendly staff made our stay very pleasant and relaxed. We enjoyed our breakfasts. We were headed for Winchester and a friendly local pointed out the correct path for walkers, which goes from Church Lane in nearby Exton, and steeply uphill over numerous stiles to emerge at the road near Beacon Hill summit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bewildered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    45
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
63
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night b&b. The warm welcome at the Bucks Head is just lovely. Very friendly. the location is lovely and the breakfast is perfectly good. However, the "beautifully decorated" rooms are not what we expected. Yes they are clean and acceptable but that is the most I could describe our room as, which was the twin room. The curtains are too small for the windows so there is a gap at each side. The beds are either so old or just very cheap quality that you can literally feel the springs in the bed. In fact my husband and I had to swap beds as he has a bad back and could not possibly sleep on that bed. Luckily the weather was warm so I was able to sleep on top of the duvet to get come cushioning but even so it was one of the most uncomfortable nights sleep. If we had planned to stay for more than one night we would have had to complain and move to another room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at The Bucks Head as part of walking part of the South Downs Way between Buriton & Winchester. The Bucks Head is about 0.6 miles from the trail and is easy to get too as well as inside seating there are two beer gardens to sit in.
Firstly opening hours may differ to what you are used to, it opens 12-2 & 6-11 daily so plan your arrival around these times.
Upon arriving we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. We had room 3 which is upstairs. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. It does not have air con but even on one of the hottest days of the year the room soon cooled when we opened the windows. We found the beds to be comfortable. Noise from the pub wasn't a problem, in fact the only noise we heard was fellow guests up & about who had early starts.
We decided to eat dinner here, they have a daily bar menu & a specials board which changes daily. We had the meat pie from the bar menu and found this to be very good, large portion, lot's of meat in the pie, steaming hot & plenty of veg and thought it was very good value.
Breakfast consists of a small selection of cereals, toast, and a cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast wasn't the biggest but was plenty for us and set us up nicely for another days walking.
Finally they were more than happy to fill up al our water bottles for the walk ahead

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice pub with rooms which has a good range of beers and excellent menu - baguettes were particulalry good and highly recomended - almost enough for 2!!
Nice garden and a pleasant location overlooking some water meadows in the meon valley

Worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were greeted by a friendly lady on arrival who showed us to our room.
The twin room we had overlooked the car park and road despite the website saying all rooms had a riverside view and it was very tiny as we had to shuffle sideways around the end of the bed.
Evening meal was reasonably priced and very tasty.
Breakfast was below average with little cereal choice (1 cereal was served from an old ice cream tub). The scrambled egg were rubbery, and mushrooms oily and there was no veggie alternatives such as veggie sausages and hash browns. The chef was very friendly though.
All in all a very average stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

7 guys stayed here on a walking trip for a weekend. Really friendly hosts, and good food.

We were made to feel very welcome. It is a proper country village pub - full of locals and the guests. Bedrooms were fine - loads of very hot water. Breakfast was very tasty - often the sausages and fry up can be a bit bland - but not here. Endless tea, coffee and toast.

Evening meal was best described as "hearty". Crowning glory was the chef's home-made steak pie - a proper raised pastry pie full of beef and ale, seved with boiled potatoes and lashings of veg. Just what you need after a long walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Great nights sleep, lovely breakfast and a top man who made us sandwiches for our days walking! Ideal for the South Downs way!
We enjoyed our meal in the bar and the banoffee pie was perfect! The village while small does have a post office but is limited if you are on a walk!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meonstoke
5.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
4.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.0 mi away
George & Falcon
George & Falcon
#1 of 1 in Warnford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buck's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck's Head

Property: Buck's Head
Address: Bucks Head Hill, Meonstoke SO32 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Meonstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Meonstoke
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint, traditionally styled village pub, with 5 en-suite letting rooms. Based in the heart of the Meon Valley, this is an ideal stopping point for cyclists and walkers alike. We are proud to offer our guests home cooked seasonal meals, sourced by local suppliers. Recently refurbished and reopened by the current owners since July 2014. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing