We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely meal out for a special occasion”
Review of Chequers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Maresfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

A last minute decision to go here for an anniversary meal out, with one of us being a veggie they still managed to offer us a choice of meals that the chef was willing to prepare there and then. The service is second to non in the restaurant and made our night out very special.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 368 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I can only assume that Mr White has licenced his name to this dreadful place because he cant seriously have a hand in running it. The accommadiation, we booked a suite, was dyer - old fashioned, depressing and dirty. Joy, we complained and got moved to a small room with the smallest bed in the world, Crossroads style bathroom where everything moved and a frankly nasty smell from the drains! The food served was simple and unimaginative. Do yourself a favour and avoid the hype.

Room Tip: avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Again I had to make a rush visit to the area and thought I would take a chance + stay here again. I managed to get a room + requested a quiet room this time. I thought as it was January that the stifling heat in the room wouldnt be as bad and I stupidly forgot all the other bad qualities this "hotel" has.

After a 6 hour drive I was shown a tiny room with a sub-standard bathroom and then proceeded to try sleep in the WORST bed ever. Not only did I have to contend with the constant creaking floorboards from below, besides and above me but I also could hear the dining room and kitchen. It was so loud I thought people were moving furniture.

As the hotel is arranged so that you walk through the dining room to your bedroom, I was reluctant to walk (looking dishevelled after a long journey) all the way back to reception to complain. As there was no phone in my room I had no choice but to try and sleep. The mattress was SO lumpy and I had springs poking in me all night. I managed about 2 hours solid.

The facilities in the room are not great. No hairdryer, no decent coffee, ONE bottle of water and no hot chocolate, rubbish pillows and old stiff windows.

The waitress in the morning did not know how to answer when I told her Id had a very bad sleep, so she slunk off to get my "ok" breakfast. The guy who checked me out didnt even ask me how my stay was.

Hugely disappointed, I regularly have to visit the area - plus many family members do too. I will stay in the nearest travel lodge next time.

Room Tip: I have stayed in TWO rooms there now - the first was at the front of the building - VERY noisy and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here wth a few friends 2 weeks ago.

After driving across for country in the poruing rain it was a pleasing site that met my eye, the location is superb and the bulding very nicely renovated, after a few dinks in the bar which was cosy with good service i checked out my room and found it to be modern, very nicley furnished and very clean, the only thing lacking was a hairdryer i later found the bed to be comfy and the location very quiet so i had a good sleep and my bed was comfy, breakfast the next day was good and the service throughout the stay first class, I would stay again

Room Tip: My room was booked for me i was not unhappy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Firstly we booked a suite via late room and all details were confirmed, whilst driving to the hotel, over 200 miles, we were telephoned and told that the suite was not available, due to someone else booking it? They placed all the blame on late rooms. And were apologetic. We were offered a double room. when we arrived we had a choice of 2 different rooms, we chose No.4. We had wine in the bar during the Afternoon and asked for their 'home made ' pork scratchings but didn't have any. Later we asked for some chips but chef not in but arrived a little while later but still unable to serve us chips as had to prepare for evening dinner (it was only 4.30p.m., how long does it take to cook chips???) We decided not to have a meal due to our disappointed and let down and went to the Bull on the Green which was great. As we were leaving to go out that night we asked for a hairdryer as not one in the room and was told it would be arranged - it never was! The towels were far too small and broken toilet roll holder and the window was broken. Breakfast was ok but had to wait half an hour for it. Another guest came for breakfast to be told there were no sausages left... The hotel was not fully booked. Really disappointed for a Johansen hotel which has good reputation and will not stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank vertigobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Marco Pierre White's Chequers Inn in Maresfield - a lovely area. It has been tastefully refurbished but the bar and restaurant still have their charming 'olde English' feel. The staff deserve a special mention as they were fantastic - completely faultless. We didn't have dinner there but the breakfast menu was varied and very good. Value-wise we got a great last minute deal through Late Rooms.

Our room was modernly decorated to a high standard and perfectly comfortable... until we tried to go to sleep. The duvet was ultra thin (I suspect the place gets rather warm in the summer) - and not really sufficient for a midwinter night. But - in stark contrast to many of the other reviews here - the main problem was the mattress. It was one of those whereby you have to reposition your ribs according to the springs! We stay in dozens of hotels on business each year, and I have to stay that this is probably the worst bed we've ever slept on (we had Room 3, for the record). That aside, would happily return - just maybe on the promise of the bed having a mattress topper!

Room Tip: Commuter traffic during the week means that the road outside is pretty busy from about 7am - so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malobo7042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked this hotel because we were going to dinner with friends and the hotel was nearby.
The service was good the bed very comfortable and our room was warm and cosy.
We had a wonderful breakfast and because my husband is coeliac we were expecting for there to be lots on the menu he couldn't eat, but amazingly everything was gluten free.
It was a little noisy because it is an old building but we slept wonderfully.
They were having problems with their WI-FI but over all I would stay again and although the menu was quite expensive it looked wonderful as did the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maresfield
1.4 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,496 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
563 reviews
3.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Buxted Inn Hotel
The Buxted Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Buxted
219 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Griffin Inn
The Griffin Inn
#1 of 1 in Fletching
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Inn

Address: The Chequers High Street, Maresfield TN22 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Maresfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maresfield
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Maresfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing