We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and quick”

The Chequers Hotel Maresfield
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Maresfield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty and quick”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I went to this restaurant yesterday, called 10 minutes in advance to say that 10 people would be coming for lunch. I have never been before and after arriving I have no idea why!
On arrival we were greeted and shown to our table and I can not fault either the menu choices, prices or service.
We were on a very tight schedule and we were seen to very quickly. I ordered the Chicken and Chorizo Pasta which came with garlic bread and it was lovely and a decent sized portion. The rest of my group all picked off the lunch time menu as well and there was no complaints from anyone.
We will definitely use this as our preferred lunch time haunt going forward and I will be suggesting that we go for our office xmas party this year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Food4thought2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    29
    22
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK for a pub meal”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Visited as we were staying locally and didn't want to go far. The staff were hit and miss to their efficiency and it took a while to be served, but the meal was served in decent time once the order was taken.

It's a chain pub so the menu was fairly generic but varied. The food was OK but nothing inspired.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice food and service”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We went early evening for meal so it wasn't particularly busy. Sat in the garden which was very pleasant. Ordered our food at the bar and it was presented and tasted beautiful. Very nicely done with the baskets and presentation of the food. We had pudding which was lovely but as always could have been bigger!
Overall highly recommended. We will be going back to try the roasts!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissPiggy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We reserved a table and took our son and daughter for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was virtually empty when we got there, and we had a choice of tables. Now we know why. We ordered the Roast, some of us one meat at £9.24 and others the two meat at £9.49. The meals came with a couple of small slices of meat, with seasonal veg of packet mash potatoes, 2 soggy roast pototoes, soggy parsnips and red cabbage. A Yorkshire pudding was thrown in for good measure.Only one of the pork meals had crackling and when my wife complained to the Waiter/Manager, Daniel, he offered to put it under the grill for a few minutes. But why was it served in this way in the first place and we were already well into our meal by this time? The two ladies had a pudding which they said was good and they couldn't finish, so a bit of a result there. A bill of £75 was paid but what a rip off. We will never visit again and it's a shame as the area needs a good pub/restaurant. We'll stick with the Ringles Cross - far better food at less cost - or the Foresters, or some of the Crowborough pubs. Come on Greene King, get a grip of this place, it's been a disaster for too long and you haven't improved it. How difficult is it to produce a good quality, good value roast?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank springerlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening meal on spec visit”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have called in on spec, the previous two times we were told they had no tables! This time we were pleased that they could fit us in, however I should have realised it was not going to be good when we were told to "sit wherever you like, and someone will be with you shortly!"

Twenty minutes later someone had obviously got lost, as we were still sat there waiting to be offered drinks let alone ordering any food.
At this point I decided they did not deserve our custom and left. I did tell the waitress how rubbish their service was and explained that this was our third and last attempt to eat here, but this like water off a ducks back.
So unless you enjoy this type of service avoid like the plague!

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Hotel Maresfield also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to The Chequers Hotel Maresfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing