We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad”

The Chequers Hotel Maresfield
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Maresfield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“good and bad”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have tried this refurbished hotel/resaurant twice now and the food is good but the service is bad. We were not acknowledged the first time by the girl behind the bar she was busy sorting drinks but an hello sorry to keep you waiting would be nice. We found our own table. Ordered drinks from another girl who was abrupt and they took ages to come. The food arrived after about 30 mins. Second visit with friends drinks took ages to come and one was wrong. Food took about 45 mins. Service with a smile is unheard of here they all look cheesed off. The decor is better than before and we do not mind good plain pub fare but unless the service improves we will not come back. We will go back to The Station pub in Uckfield where the staff are nice polite and food is served much quicker. It would be a shame if this pub changed hands again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geminigirlengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    29
    20
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not recommeneded”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Met friends for meal last night.Had voucher for free bottle of wine, asked for red but none available , so had white.Waitress came for order but we asked for 2 more minutes, that was our mistake!after another 15 mins went to find waiter to take order but had to wait further 10 mins before collaring waitress serving next table.She told us about all the dishes that weren't available , including all the sharing plates.My salmon came with a salad of tomatoes, lettuce and cucmber, not the special salad advertised on the menu including edami beans and pomegranate seeds.We were ordering off main menu not £9.99 for two , so expected better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Inexpensive meal for two”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went here for lunch as I had heard that their two mains for £9.95 was good. On arrival we found an attractive pub restaurant with a lot of people sat eating and waiting, but no staff! After about 5 minutes a very nice but harassed lady appeared and we were lucky to put in our order for drinks and lunch. The food arrived after about 25 minutes and for the price was fine. The server said that as they had few reservations they were understaffed for the numbers who actually arrived. When we left, the couple who had arrived just after is, had yet to receive any food.
For the price, not bad, but be prepared to wait!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not return”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Arrived for lunch at 12.30, order taken. Starters arrived at 1.15 after numerous queries with staff. No sign of main courses, queried with "manager" who stated that there had been a large number of orders at once. We pointed out that other tables who had arrived much later than us had almost finished their main courses. Told that ours was on its way. Arrived after another 10 minutes. Bill arrived with no apologies and no reduction for the terrible service. Paid our bill and made the point about the service and the manager said he could reduce the bill retrospectively. He was told it was too late and should have been done without us having to mention it. This was our second visit, after giving them the benefit of the doubt the first time. We will not return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you want service don't go here”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

went here for coffee with a friend using advertisement voucher from local TNuncovered mag. Arrived circa 10.30am girl hugging her tea mug obviously wasn't going to move. Bloke grudgingly got up from his piece of toast looked down his nose at the voucher but said he would bring coffees to us. We looked round at the refurb - very nice but no lounge/ comfortable chairs for morning coffee. We sat in the bar. The bin was removed from the area after coffee served. After about 1hour having not seen anyone we thought we have another coffee, called out over the bar twice.. coffee duly served when we tasted it - cold- called out over bar again...no answer gave it ten mins,,,called out again. Girl looked in state of shock at our comments of cold drinks, no response, and that we would not be paying for them, just 1 coffee to pay for. no apology. no offer to replace them. I did ask who the management presence was - John - they didn't offer to get him and if it was 'toast man' I had no desire to see him. Have a voucher for a free bottle of wine but don't it will get used. Menu looked good and good value. Place done up nice. Please employ some people that understand they are in the SERVICE industry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Hotel Maresfield also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to The Chequers Hotel Maresfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing