We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Seven Stars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seven Stars Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shincliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

A well run and very friendly hotel, rooms clean and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent, I can recommend the salmon and scrambled egg.
The hotel is only a few minutes drive from the Science block at Durham University and the colleges off South Road.
If you don't want to drive in to the city the park and ride is also on South Road.
We will use the hotel again and have handed a few cards around to other people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    77
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
31
88
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Whilst getting work done on our house we decided to stay over at a place we regularly enjoy eating. It was exactly as we expected. Traditional, very clean & comfortable. Staff very friendly and food up to its usual great standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjhDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Premises olde world type horse brasses and stuffed animal heads adorn the walls, creating a warm cosy atmosphere in the bar, it also stocks several real ales which are worth trying not too pricey Hazel one of the barstaff was very knowledgeable about both the beers and the local area and pointed us in the right direction of what to see and do during our visit.
Now to the room (number 5) good large and comfortable the bedroom furniture could do with replacing looks like old mfi stock but perfectly adequate for our short stay my only complaint was the size of the toilet but again ok for short stay.
We had a great breakfast each morning plenty of choices from full english to vegetarian full english
and most things in between.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night and it was very good especially the smoked haddock bread and butter pudding starter.
So overall our stay was very enjoyable and all the staff very helpful and polite and made our weekend great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbrypol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Just returned home after a weekend stay (16/17 may 2014 ) We arrived late afternoon on the 16th
we were met at reception by a very friendly member of staff , he showed us the bedrooms and gave us choice of two rooms .Both of the rooms very clean and tidy not very big but large enough for us.We had booked dinner bed and breakfast the menu was excellent a very good choice of food and very well cooked and presented by very friendly. I would certainly stay again and i would certainly recommend this inn to all my friends.A very good place to stay if visiting DURHAM it is only minuets away from the city center .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudgesmith1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We selected this Inn from the English Inns website. We had a two night beak in Durham booked and were looking for a stopover so as to make the most of our time in Durham. Starting with the positives:- All of the staff were excellent, friendly, welcoming and helpful. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant where again the service was very good as was the food. The smoked Haddock, bread and butter pudding starter was particularly memorable.
On the not so good side was our room, particularly the bathroom. The room had been divided (which is often the case) in order to create an en-suit, but the size of the bathroom must be the minimum that the building standards allow. There was no window in the bathroom and the extractor fan was not working. But is was the electrics that were particularly poor. The toilet was fitted with a macerator and pump (always a last resort measure). The cable form the macerator to the fused spur had been joined in a very poor way using a "choc block" type connector and then taped over (not very convincingly). This was certainly not water tight and so potentially dangerous, particularly as it was on the floor in a small bathroom that houses the toilet, shower and a wash basin all potential sources of water.
Just to add insult to injury, all of the PAT (portable appliance test) certification on the appliances in the room (TV, bedside lamps and hairdryer) was 18 months overdue.
It is such a pity that the fabric behind the staff and the restaurant fails to match their efforts - they deserve better.
Durham however is a brilliant city and we enjoyed our weekend break thoroughly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked the seven stars last minute for one night for my wife and I while we met friends in Durham center. The hotel was 5 minutes drive £6 in a taxi to the center so location was good, we received a warm welcome, nice little bar and good selection of beers, Our room a bit on the small size but expected with this type of village hotel but very clean. Breakfast was delicious and again service very polite. I would stay a again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Just got home from a wonderful few days in Durham. Found this hotel on the internet & booked via their website, which was really easy. Looked ideal for what we wanted & we weren't disappointed. On arrival, the staff were extremely friendly & welcoming. The room was large & the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was small but didn't really matter, it had everything you needed. Some people have commented about the macerator on the toilet but we didn't find it a problem. The food in the restaurant was amazing. We'd booked a mini - break deal, so had a three course meal. My husband had the liver for his main & he said it was the best he had tasted. The portions are generous & we struggled to fit in dessert; it wasn't impossible though as it tasted so nice! There was a pub quiz on during our stay but you couldn't hear anything from the bar from our bedroom. Breakfast was as good as the evening meal, with staff remembering our preferences from the day before. Easy access into town via bus or a pleasant walk. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff and we can't wait to go back and stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shincliffe
1.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.8 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars Inn

Property: Seven Stars Inn
Address: High Street North, Shincliffe DH1 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Shincliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shincliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seven Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seven Stars Inn is a English country Inn with restaurant located in the picturesque village of Shincliffe, only one and a half miles from the centre of Durham City and Durham University. Originally a coaching Inn dating back to 1724 the Seven Stars Inn is now a friendly, family run restaurant and Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Seven Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Stars Hotel Shincliffe
7 Stars Inn
Seven Stars Inn Shincliffe, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing