We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Seven Stars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seven Stars Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shincliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have recently been staying at the Seven Stars inn whilst visiting Durham on business. My first stay there for a number of years, thankfully the owners have took up the gauntlet and kept the inn a warm, welcoming place with lovely food, good beer, good company and great staff.
I would recommend to anyone planning a stay over in Durham, to either stay there or at least eat out there and I can assure you will be glad that you did so.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    79
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
31
90
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WEST MIDS
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The room we had was compact (the bathroom was particularly snug) but had everything we needed. The room had a hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities/TV and the bed was very comfy. I'm giving it 4 stars because the food was VERY good; we ate in the Inn and restaurant and would definitely recommend it. Stayed recently and would ceratinly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PODGE19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brundall, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The welcome was a little frosty I thought, but the chap on duty the next morning was much friendlier. My single room was comfortable and pleasant - and very nice to have soap and shower gel provided in sachets in the shower-room. Breakfast was delicious. Overall (apart from the initial impression) - very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went for a family celebration on Friday 11th January, 8 people in total. From start to finish, our whole experience of dining out at the Seven Stars was fantastic. We had 2 members of our party who were on gluten free diets, and our son had phoned prior to us coming in and they had said that there would be something available on the night. What totally amazed us, was that when we arrived, our waiter came up with a list already prepared with a really good choice of gluten free options. Everybody chose what they wanted, most were different from each other, and they even accomodated 'cheesy chips' for the kids...very impressed! The quality and freshness of the food was outstanding, and I ordered the haddock and fries , which when it arrived was actually so large that it was hanging off the plate. The desserts were also amazing, and could definitely recommend their sticky toffee pudding.
The attention to detail was superb, and the waiting on that we received was excellent.
The prices were extremely good value for money, and we were made to feel that nthing was too much trouble for them.
All in all, this was definitely one of the best meals that we had eaten out anywhere, and the whole family left feeling delighted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Arrived on a cold wet afternoon to a warm and friendly welcome. After settling into our room we had a drink it the bar beside the fire. Our evening meal was excellent. My husband had the Christmas menu and I had risotto for my main course which was delicious. Breakfast was cooked to order and it was excellent too. This was a very relaxing stay with a lovely homely atmosphere and friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Try the fish and chips according to my parents in law with modest appetites you might need to consider the smaller portion option. Friendly service and a cozy rural venue. I thought the steak and chips to be good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have been staying here several times a year fro several years. The Seven Stars is a charming country inn with a warm welcome and an excellent restaurant. I'm not a vegetarian but good vegetarian dishes are available and very tasty . The cuisine is consistently good and there are very good local suppliers. The rooms are simple and comfortable. I appreciate the relaxing feeling in the evening after a fraught day. Well done the Harris family team and their staff for continuing to maintain and even better, to improve the quality of the inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneRParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shincliffe
1.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
492 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars Inn

Property: Seven Stars Inn
Address: High Street North, Shincliffe DH1 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Shincliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shincliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seven Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seven Stars Inn is a English country Inn with restaurant located in the picturesque village of Shincliffe, only one and a half miles from the centre of Durham City and Durham University. Originally a coaching Inn dating back to 1724 the Seven Stars Inn is now a friendly, family run restaurant and Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Seven Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Stars Inn
Seven Stars Hotel Shincliffe
Seven Stars Inn Shincliffe, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing