We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional coaching Inn”
Review of Seven Stars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seven Stars Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shincliffe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It is a nice old fashioned coaching Inn sitting in a nice quite area. There is a lot of period features throughout the building although the rooms are modern. The fixture and fittings are in good condition and the breakfast was a good size and enjoyable. The only downside was the lack of parking but this cannot be improved due to location. Unfortunately never sampled the evening menu although they have certificates up on wall as winners of taste of Durham along with a five star food hygiene certificate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Seven Stars Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

A quaint country pub, but looking a little tired. Pleasant staff showed us to our room which was fine and the dreaded 'saniflow' toilet worked perfectly in the rather tatty bathroom. Pleasant dinner in the dining room and breakfast likewise. The 'free' wi-fi was a great help as there was no mobile phone signal for Orange, T Mobile or Vodafone. I was very disappointed though, to find that the 'free' wi-fi only lasted for four hours and that it was "not possible" to give me another passcode. This is apparently to stop folks downloading large files .... I only had my phone to check my e mails!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB-Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

i loved and supported this pub for years. but i give up! tonight the staff were simply not interested. there is sense that you have to be local to be treated to some service. not interested in customers, simply gossiping and self-absorbed self gratification.

poor management. poor food. dirty tables. and less than savoury atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Divya144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I visited the Seven Stars Inn recently. This pub/restaurant is in a great little village just on the outskirts of Durham City. Although the bar area is only small it has a great local atmosphere and is very relaxing. We booked our meal for 7pm and were led to our table in the main dining area which was very comfortable.Both service and food was excellent, but the starter I had was a little on the small size and the amount of veg on my Venison could have been a little more. This is only the usual moan from me but otherwise a truly great place to try.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garlicman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Birthday treat for my husband. Used the 2 night dbb deal. Excellent value. All meals well presented, freshly cooked. Staff very friendly. Rooms cosy. Nice quiet location, no late night noise.
Highly recommended. Went to Beamish museum and used 25% off voucher from Seven Stars, the ticket purchased is now valid for a year, which is also very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreylodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

What a truly lovely place to visit and it was just as expected no 'glass or chrome' to be seen just a traditional welcome to a family run business. The Inn itself is well maintained and done to a high standard, our room was a good size the bed was comfortable and the towels and bedding were brilliant white which l always think is a good indication of the standard.
Our brakfast was well pesented and of a high standard there was adequate choice and plenty of it.
We really enjoyed our stay and the cost was very reasonable even the drinks at the bar.We would recommend this delightful inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorny_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

read lots of previous reviews.we found the inn to be friendly,cosy,comfy and well situated for trip to durham,the food and ale(whisky+wine too)superb,as other comments, rooms and showers wee bit cramped but no prob for a couple of days stay,going to ask for room5 next time,definitely going back next visit to area

Room Tip: room 1 compact and on busy main rd so shut window and go to bed after bar shuts,we will ask for room...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shincliffe
1.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars Inn

Address: High Street North, Shincliffe DH1 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Shincliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shincliffe
Price Range: $72 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seven Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seven Stars Inn is a English country Inn with restaurant located in the picturesque village of Shincliffe, only one and a half miles from the centre of Durham City and Durham University. Originally a coaching Inn dating back to 1724 the Seven Stars Inn is now a friendly, family run restaurant and Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seven Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Stars Inn
Seven Stars Hotel Shincliffe
Seven Stars Inn Shincliffe, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing