We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quintessential English Inn”
Review of The Acorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Acorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Evershot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

As a special birthday treat, my friend and I were going to spend a day at the Lesley Waters Cookery School in Halstock and, as we were travelling from London, decided to stay in Dorset the night before the cookery class so we didn't have a long drive on the day. We had been recommended the Acorn Inn as a lovely place to stay and that Summer Lodge was a lovely place to have dinner. We were not disappointed! We had booked dinner for 7.00pm but didn't arrive at the Acorn until 7.10pm. They immediately telephoned Summer Lodge and said we were running late. We were shown to our rooms (we had booked two of the four poster rooms) and were delighted with what we saw. The rooms were very well furnished and of a good size. The usual tea, coffee, biscuits and water were on hand and it was exceptionally clean. We walked across the road to Summer Lodge for dinner, which was excellent , and then walked back to the Acorn for a nightcap before retiring to bed. In the morning, my friend had the full english breakfast and I had the boiled eggs and soldiers (which were cooked to perfection!). The staff were very friendly and were on hand to help if need be. If I have to say anything negative about our stay, it was that our rooms were facing the 'main' road which runs through Evershot and we could hear the traffic from around 7.00am in the morning. Saying that, our stay was on a Wednesday night and no doubt the locals who lived in the village had jobs to go to on Thursday! Overall, we thought that the Acorn Inn was a wonderful place to stay and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Teresa
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Acorn Inn and of the course the wonderful Lesley Water's Cookery School just down the road.
Very best wishes for a fantastic festive season and we hope to welcome you both back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 457 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely inn, lovely room, bsthroom, great food, nice staff - We stayed on the Evershot Room which is really good configuration if staying with with a young child as they have their own small room (It's good safety gates so very kiddie friendly) But ceiling are very low so maybe not suited for really tall people.
They also organised an excellent baby sitter for us.
Only gripe was, when we Stayed, they don't serve kids menus until 6.30 and there are no other option in the village so it wasn't very flexible. Hopefully this is something they resolved
Would return and recommend .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Mazpaz, thank you so much for your lovely review; we are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. On your next visit do let us know what time your child would like to eat and we will happily prepare something for them. Very best wishes, Alex & Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I ... and our Basset Hound, Mabel ... stayed at the Acorn Inn recently to recharge our batteries before the Christmas onslaught! As always we received a very warm welcome and were shown to our room. All the rooms have Thomas Hardy inspired names and we had Tess with a lovely four poster. Despite this hotel welcoming dogs there is never a 'doggie smell' and the rooms are spotless.
The food at the Acorn is very good and the location is excellent for walking, particularly with a dog.
The Acorn Inn is the only pub in the Red Carnation Group; all the other properties are five star hotels and one of them, Summer Lodge, is located 100 yards away. In common with Summer Lodge, the staff at the Acorn Inn is what sets it apart from other establishments. They manage to combine efficiency with warmth and friendliness and we will certainly be returning soon.

Room Tip: This is a building dating back to the time of Thomas Hardy so the Acorn is full of character. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grotemarkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night (a Thursday) in the Silverthorne Room (a 4 poster room if you looking at the rates).

Room: Our room faced the road but we didn't really have an issue with the road noise (single-glazing obviously). The room was not big but then the Inn is almost 400 years old so was expecting it. The bathroom is new so that is a plus. You can just charge all food and drinks to your room to make life easy. The black-out curtains were awesome!

Dinner: We had 2 friends come over for dinner who lived in Somerset. I had the Burger which was huge! The Duck pie was nice but a little on the small side and the Cottage Pie was really good and larger. The bread from the local bakery is great! They have an extensive Wine List so you should be able to find something you like. There was a nice range of options and overall the food was great.

The Bar: Quaint little bar, usually on Thursdays and Fridays some locals will come and play Skittles which is cool! They have a huge selection of Whisky which was great (pop down the road to the Summer Lodge if you want a ridiculously large collection of old and expensive Whisky) so I did a 'train' of 3 tastings which was nice. They have a Lounge that you can retire to and chill out if you don't want to sit in the bar.

Breakfast (08:00-09:30): Selection of cereals and you can choose a hot breakfast from a menu. Juice and coffee available. You need to pay a small charge if you want an espresso etc.

The Staff: Very friendly and helpful!

I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and go back again. I would love to stay at the Summer Lodge, a short walk down the road (5* sister Hotel and Spa). We popped our head in and had a bit of a noisy around and it looked beautiful! You will pay 350-600+GBP a night though...

Room Tip: I imagine most of the rooms will be on the small side given that the place is almost 400 years old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albie-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACAW, Manager at The Acorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Albie, thanks so much for taking the time to give such a detailed review; we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I am glad you tried one of our whisky flights, we have over 100 single malts at the Acorn & over 300 at Summer Lodge!! We do hope to welcome you back again. best wishes, Alex & Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I had dinner here for the first time recently.

There were a number of menus to choose from, the Bangers and Mash Tuesday night speciality; the daily specials; the bar menu and the a la carte menu. The menus were inventive and certainly on a par with some of the best gastro pubs I have visited.

There were some small let-downs.

The 'duck cottage pie' was a small circle of duck with a small circle of mashed potato on top - served with the smallest selection of vegetables. It left me feeling like I hadn't really had a main course. It was certainly the smallest main course of any served to the group that evening.

Some of the group chose a 'chocolate tart' which turned out to be a tart of practically solid chocolate which it was difficult to eat without power tools.

On the up side:

The pub has a great feel and the staff are warm and friendly.

I would like to go back but may steer clear of the menu choices above.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NickALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed two nighs in the suite dining one night there and one in the Sumerlodge nice touch had a 30th anniversary card waitingfor us and thrughout the stay the staff were great nice ad quiet up thetop inthe suite but MIND YOUR HEAD. On line it shows two bars butonly see people in the public bar which should be pointed out. Breakfast was good but the eveing meal foe me was below average which is a pity for the staff are great, weate tesecond night up te rosd in the sister hotel FANTASTIC. One complaint is the unbearable greasy/fatty smell from the kitchen they know of itIm told but cannot do anything about it, what a shamefor we hadto hold our noses when passing to get to our room
Overal thank you for your kindness over te two days

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

With a voucher for long service from work we decided to stay and eat here even though it's only 15 miles away from where we live
Really old place with character -the upstairs room floor is on a slope like most really old places
We were upgraded to the four poster however I would not spend the money they would have asked for for this room £144 I believe
It was really nice to be shown to the room with free bottled water and tea etc
The meal was really well presented however the menu on this occasion too limited ie one of us has fish and chips whilst it was really nice there wasn't enough to grab you're taste buds
Service superb
Breakfast menu was great and service equal to the evening

Nice polite staff and friendly

I would go again for a meal but wouldn't recommend for a night stay as over priced rooms

Room Tip: Get a free upgrade as the four poster was nice would you wouldn't pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
0.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
949 reviews
2.5 mi away
George Albert Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
889 reviews
6.1 mi away
New Inn Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas
#1 of 2 in Cerne Abbas
268 reviews
8.3 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acorn Inn

Address: 28 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Evershot
Price Range: $130 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Acorn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of beautiful West Dorset and immortalised as the 'Sow and Acorn' in Thomas Hardy's Tess of the d'Urbervilles', the delightful 16th century Acorn inn is the perfect English country setting. Just over 2 hours drive from London, West Dorset is steeped in history and has many areas of outstanding natural beauty including mile upon mile of stunning coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Acorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Acorn Hotel Evershot
The Acorn Inn Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing