We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight stay”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having just left Southampton following a cruise, our daughter booked us into Summer Lodge for one night (Saturday). Wonderful location, beautiful gardens and grounds. Very quiet and peaceful - just what we needed. Lovely Receptionist who directed us to a well appointed lounge overlooking the very large garden and, with the sun pouring in, the three of us proceeded to enjoy a delightful late lunch - lovely food and plenty of tea and so very well served by the lovely staff - attentive and made us feel so relaxed and at ease. Decided to try the Tasting Menu for dinner and must thank the Sommelier (sorry, can't remember his name - must be the wine!) for all his information regarding the different wines and his enthusiasm in choosing the wines for the six different courses. Lovely dinner with excellent staff lasting around three hours - we did enjoy ourselves ! The rooms were lovely and each one different. Everything you could need. Breakfast was to the, by now, expected high standard - full English or Continental or anything you wanted - served either in the garden or the Dining Room. Thanks to all the staff for being so helpful and pleasant and making our stay so memorable. Thanks also to the Gardener who gave me some tips regarding watering plants and telling us the story surrounding the Lodge and garden. If you can go, then go - you won't regret it. We will be back !

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main building, some in the adjacent buildings. We were in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Anne S, thank you so much for your very kind review of Summer Lodge. We are always thrilled to see the details of what guests have enjoyed. That you will be back is the greatest possible endorsement you could give us and we hope it is not too long until your return visit.
Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 929 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I discovered Summer Lodge 9 years ago, and we love it so much we go there at least twice a year. We have been lucky to travel the world staying in luxury hotels, but we both feel Summer Lodge is the best of all. This is an extraordinary feat for a country hotel in Dorset!

The staff are superb, the décor unique and lovely, and the food and wine are outstanding. The setting in an idyllic village amongst rolling hills is quite stunning.

Of course, Summer Lodge is not cheap. But it in our view it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Andy B, my team and I are very grateful for your kind review of your recent stay at Summer Lodge. I cannot begin to tell you how wonderful it feels to see that you rate us as the best of the many luxury hotels you have stayed in all over the world. Lofty praise indeed! We look forward very much to welcoming you and Mrs B back to Summer Lodge soon. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for a night on the 19th July as part of a weekend break in Dorset. Very peaceful location, bed was very comfortable and room very quiet. The staff were exceptional and could not do enough for you. We both had treatments done in the Spa by Naomi who was fantastic and really cares about what she does. Although this hotel is fairly expensive, but fortunately in this case you do get what you pay for. Despite a problem with our shower, it was dealt with very efficiently & quickly.

Will definitely stay at this hotel again, and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriendsSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear FriendsSurrey, thank you so much, on behalf of my team, for the kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to read about the many things you enjoyed during your visit and especially the massage given by Naomi. It makes me very happy to see that you will recommend us highly and that you will definitely stay here again. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights at beginning of july, very peaceful location and beautiful gardens;
bed was comfortable and very quiet despiet hotel being busy;
everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained;
food was good but not outstanding;
,staff were all friendly and helpful
overall we enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minerva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear minerva10, it is a great pleasure reading a kind review like this of Summer Lodge and I am grateful to you for taking the time to do so. It is also very satisfying to know that your room was quiet despite the hotel being busy and that you look forward to coming back. Hopefully that day is not too far off. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I plus our dog Teddy spent three fantastic nights at Summer Lodge. Firstly our room was perfect for our needs even a dog bed for Teddy, secondly the staff were very attentive and helpful - they even knew Teddy's name and finally the food and wine were exemplary. It was a truly relaxing stay in a beautiful location. We would not hesitate for an instant to recommend it. We can't to go back.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank cthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear cthel, thank you so much for your kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you and Teddy enjoyed your stay. "We can't wait to go back" is the best possible endorsement we could hope for. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this fantastic place. We celebrated out wedding anniversary whilst there and the staff made us feel very special. Out suite was amazing, the food great and the service outstanding. Special mentions to dining room staff Max and Justin who were totally professional without being stuffy and very friendly. We felt very spoiled. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and we are planning another visit soon to revisit the idyllic surroundings and comfort of this hotel.

One small point, and this is true of most of the many hotels I have stayed in - the lighting must have been designed by a man. This woman prefers to sit at a dressing table to dry hair, put on make up etc. However, the lighting was too dim and in the wrong place for me to see. The magnifying mirror, although it had a light, did not really help. The hotel provided me with an anglelpoise lamp but still not much use so I put my makeup on in the daylight in the lovely private garden we had. No problem as we had superb weather. I am really NOT complaining about this, just drawing the attention to all hotel room designers that women have needs that maybe men do not understand. There was a magnifying mirror in the bathroom too, which was on an arm that extended, but when pulled out, was too high for me to see into (I am 5'1") and too low for my husband (6'2"). The lighting was a bit dim in there too and as stated, I prefer to sit down. I have not deducted any points for this as it happens everywhere.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes something rather classy but friendly, comfortable and special.

Room Tip: Suite 18 was a lovely indulgence for our anniversary. It has a lovely conservatory, where we had bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Robbsea, thank you so much for your kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay. Max and Justin are going to be especially thrilled to be mentioned. We appreciate your valuable comments regarding the lighting very much. Some changes are being made in this suite in the new year and enhancing the lighting is at the top of the list of things to do. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Summer Lodge and ALL of our expectations were exceeded. The rooms were elegantly decorated, the Lodge itself was impeccably maintained- the quintissential English garden hotel. The food was fantastic-classic yet interesting- and the waitstaff, as well as the rest of the hotel staff, were able to anticipate our every need before we even knew we needed something! We have stayed in several hotels of the Relais and Chateau designation, but this has been far and away our best experience even among this elite group. The town of Evershot is adorable, and there are many excellent walks nearby. The hotel was able to print out a walking guide for us and we were able to walk to a large country estate in the vicinity. We brough along our infant daughter. The hotel took extra pains to make her comfortable. The lawn outside was a great place for her to romp while we enjoyed lunch on the terrace. There is even a playground area for children and she loved the fountains, gardens, and croquet lawn. I only wish we had more time to use the Spa facilities. We will absolutely be returning soon for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Elizabeth G, I cannot begin to tell you how much pleasure we get from feedback like yours. Thank you so much for your kind review of Summer Lodge. I am thrilled to see how much you and your family enjoyed your stay. That you rate us as your best Relais & Chateaux experience, is lofty praise indeed. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we can welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
848 reviews
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
11.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
517 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: $279 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing