We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty as a Picture”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent 2 lovely days at Summer Lodge for my husbands birthday treat. We usually stay at Chewton Glen which we love but we wanted to take our little dog with us and this hotel is perfect for doggie guests Our room was spacious with a huge bed, lovely pillows, and French doors on to a small conservatory which opened onto a small courtyard garden with sun loungers. Perfect.
Breakfasts were really good and service was excellent from the moment we arrived and were met in the car park and escorted to our room. I wish l could remember the young mans name. He supplied us , with ice and lemon and promptly brought a cooler for our dogs food.
There was a dog bed, bowls, biscuits and towels, very thoughtful.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as we wanted our dog with us so we went to the Acorn Inn just 2 mins up the road (also owned by the hotel). Great service and lovely food.
Evershot is a very pretty village and we had some lovely walks. The pool at the hotel was so warm, l had a lovely swim while my husband watched the tennis. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Angie058, your feedback is food for the soul. Thank you so much for posting this kind review of your recent stay at Summer Lodge to celebrate your husband's birthday. The young man who met you on arrival is Vygantas. Everyone on my team reads these reviews and he will be particularly happy to see his efforts acknowledged. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we can welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 929 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

So difficult to say which aspect of our two night stay was better than any other as it was all so lovely. Our room was luxurious and comfortable and immaculate; the food was always delicious and beautifully presented; our day in the spa was indulgent and very spoiling and as a whole the hotel is a beautiful and well run haven of peace and relaxation. The staff were delightful, always courteous, friendly and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Room Tip: Not having seen any other of the rooms I couldn't offer any advice, but I should think they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippin1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Pippin1994, your kind review of Summer Lodge is very much appreciated and I am thrilled to see that you could not decide which aspect of your stay was the most enjoyable. That you found us "a well run haven of peace and relaxation" is high praise indeed. Thank you so much. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I have spent 3 nights in this hotel with 2 of my friends, we have chosed 2 connecting delux rooms. They both were luxirious and give the feeling of the traditional English environment. Very good service, pleasant atmosphere, quite. We had dinner in the resturant and i can say that food was far overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doctorfatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Doctorfatima, my team and I are grateful to you for the kind review of Summer Lodge and I am very happy to see how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We keep a very close eye on what our competitors charge and in establishments with a fantastic wine selection, very well trained staff who really care, surrounded by incredibly beautiful gardens, the food is going to be that little more expensive than in restaurants unfortunate enough not have these attributes. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We wanted a couple of days away to relax and chose Summer Lodge as it is only half an hour from home and has a spa. We had a wonderful time, very relaxing, and felt very pampered. The staff are brilliant, attentive but not overly so, and the attention to detail throughout the hotel is the best of anywhere I have stayed. The restaurant is superb, delicious food with a very knowledgable sommelier. The spa is relaxing and very well run. All in all a wonderful time and one we will repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear SDG58, thank you so much for your very kind review of Summer Lodge. I am thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay and that the attention to detail was the best you have ever seen. I am even more happy to see that you will be back. For us, this is the ulitmate endorsement. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our second visit to Summer Lodge and it was as perfect as the first occasion. Nothing is too much and all the staff we met were attentive and pleasant without being over bearing. Their conversation at breakfast and dinner is both humorous and informative especially regarding the surrounding area and they were interested in how our day had been and whether they could help in suggesting other interesting locations based on our requirements, something that we found extremely helpful. The tasting menu was something that in the past we would have ignored , either as too expensive or too much to eat but we were pleasantly surprised and it provided us an opportunity to try a large selection of the menu and this also enabled us to choose our favourite for the following evening. Eric the sommelier did us proud as well, too many times do I visit restaurants and select the same wine from the menu "just to be on the safe side" but on this occasion I explained exactly what we wanted and he choose two perfect bottles (not too expensive either) which I have now added to my favourite's list.
The main reason for our trip was a long weekend away with our 9 month old Flat Coat Retriever, Alfie. It was our first trip away with Alfie and we were very nervous about how he would react to staying in a hotel for the first time. One of the benefits of Summer Lodge is that they are very dog friendly and they also have cottages located a short walk away from the hotel so we could leave our dog for breakfast without the concern of upsetting other guests if he barked occasionally.
Alfie also wants to give a big thanks to Hanna the receptionist for taking him out on two lovely long walks while we were having dinner, something we had organised when we booked but which provided us the ability to enjoy a relaxed dinner without having to rush back.

The overall result was that Alfie loved his time away and we enjoyed a wonderfully relaxed break.
Please pass on our thanks to all of the staff and we all look forward to visiting again soon , especially Alfie.

Stuart, Carolyn & Alfie

Room Tip: If you have a dog (like we did) i suggest one of the cottage rooms which is far enough away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear stuartr123, we are always so grateful to guests who take the time to post a review of their stay. Thank you so much for this kind report on your visit to Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you, your wife and Alfie enjoyed your stay. I will pass your thanks on to the entire team with great pleasure and pride. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we can welcome you back on your third visit. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fabulous hotel with exceptional staff and a wonderful setting. A luxury experience but without pretension and at a reasonable cost given what is on offer. Fully deserves its excellent reputation and can be highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davec06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear davec06, thank you so much for this very kind review of your stay with us at Summer Lodge. My team and I are delighted to see all that you enjoyed about your experience and hope it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited Summer Lodge for afternoon tea, as my son and daughter in law had booked it for my birthday. What a treat it turned out to be. As we drove into the car park it started to rain. A young man appeared carrying umbrellas and ushered us into a parking space. He then escorted us into the hotel, making sure we stayed dry. Once inside we were shown into the lounge which was beautifully decorated in a very sumptuous style. A young lady took our booking cards and gave us a menu. After a few minutes a young man took our order. Our assam tea arrived soon after, followed by our afternoon tea, which consisted of assorted finger sandwiches, a magnificent array of cakes (which the young man fully described to us in detail) and scones with jam and clotted cream. It was quite a feast!! We managed to eat most of it, but what we didn't was put into a box for us to take home. It was lovely to go somewhere and be treated so fantastically. They did all they could to make this an afternoon to remember. Afterwards we took a stroll in the grounds which were absolutely beautiful. If you want a special treat with great service I recommend a visit to Summer Lodge. Well done to everyone at Summer Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YeovilWuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear YeovilWuppy, thank you so much for the very beautiful photographs and kind review of your afernoon tea here at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see that you thought we did all we could to make your experience 'an afternoon to remember'. My team and I are very grateful for your endorsement. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
848 reviews
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
11.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
517 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: $279 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing