We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit to Summer Lodge”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is simply the very best in the west Dorset area.
The service and standard of rooms is excellent,the food is exceptional and the atmosphere is calm and friendly.
Nothing is too much trouble for the professional team running the hotel. It is extremely unusual to find such a gem of a place in rural England,especially because it is warm, welcoming and friendly
too.
I would rate it as 5 star in all respects.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the countryside are quieter than the rooms facing the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 566DRB566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear 566DRB566, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this very complimentary review of your recent stay at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed the experience and would like to point out that meals are available on a 24 hour basis. We look forward very much to welcoming you back on your next stay. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 926 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Well, we took the wfe and the mother-in-law, one might think not the perfect weekend. This hotel gets everything right on a less stuffy basis. There is a lovely man called Charles who claims to be the General Manager but more a delightful host orchestrating a country house party. All his staff were nearly as delightful providing fautless service. The food was delicious without exception and deserves a Michelin Star. There was a very serious sommelier who knew his stuff and recommended all the right wines,albeit from where he hailed. Two wines, one year difference, one pound difference, yet a mile of difference, a great choice. Afternoon tea was a treat and even the mother-in-law reassesed me.. as an excellent husband for her precious daughter. Please give this hotel a try, it is not like other country house hotels where you feel like a room number. We had not been back for at least four years but were made to feel it was last week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Derek-Christine, I am very grateful to you for the time you have taken to post this wonderful review of your visit to Summer Lodge. It is lofty praise indeed to read that our food is worthy of a Michelin star. It is also very reassuring to read of all the other things you enjoyed and I hope it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just spent another couple of marvellous days in Summer Lodge. The rooms were lovely, the food excellent, the service and the staff outstanding. We had a problem with the first room because the floorboards had to be taken up, but we were moved to a bigger room and given a complimentary afternoon tea. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Wildhat, thank you so much for posting such a kind review of your stay at Summer Lodge. My team and I are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and like you, hope you will return soon. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I would definitely recommend staying here. The hotel is beautiful. Each room is decorated in a traditional, elegant way and the hotel itself has wonderful interior. The food itself is brilliant. The whole family are vegetarian and the chef has always been very accommodating in what we have wanted and even produced a whole menu to suit our tastes.

The pool and spa area is brilliant. I have spent whole days in there because it is so relaxing. There is even a small gym in there fitted with all the latest equipment and they run exercise classes such as yoga on a daily basis.

The staff are brilliant. They are always polite and attentive. Occasionally there are some language barriers with some members of staff which can get a little annoying, but did not affect our stay.

The grounds are also beautiful. There is a lovely large pond that you can sit next to when it is sunny, and an outdoors, oversized game of cheff, as well as croquet and nice walks around the hotel ground and village to entertain yourself.

I would definitely come again and look forward to when I do.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and have their own unique qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear emacrae, thank you so much for your very kind review of Summer Lodge, I am delighted to see that you were entirely happy with the way we catered to your vegetarian family's requirements and like you, look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This Hotel is a gem! The staff are wonderful, it is always an absolute pleasure to be there. Lunch, afternoon tea, or just popping in for a glass of 'bubbles' or a pot of coffee I love it. Elegant, calm surroundings cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILLCOCKS643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear WILLCOCKS643, thank you very much for declaring Summer Lodge a gem. We are very grateful for your kind review and delighted to see how much you continue to enjoy your visits. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Me and my friends have had quite a few afternoon teas our my time and this place is by far best (even Mayfair doesn't beat it). It's reasonably priced for a little bit of luxury. Portion sizes are good and staff are very friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear DorsetCakequeen, thank you so much for posting your very kind review of your afternoon tea at Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see how well we are rated by such a seasoned afternoon tea taker and thank you for your commendation. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed the nights of the Jubilee celebrations with my 19 year old daughter.

The hotel mistakenly assumed that I was coming again with my wife so gave us a double rather than twin room but quickly corrected the mistake giving us two single rooms that were but noisy beng at the top of the stairs. One had a view of the main village street.

Great restaurant with delicious local produce and a good wine list. Nice common parts, Darwin room and malt whisky collection.

The spa pool and treatment area are good, unless it's raining that it was, hard.

The in house pub over the road provided a less stuffy and more relaxing for dinner with a teenager.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Sm0ky, thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of Summer Lodge. I am delighted to see the aspects of your stay you enjoyed the most and happy to know that the Acorn Inn proved successful with your daughter. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
11.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
515 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: $279 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing