We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely welcome, a great room and a relaxing setting. Pool was a little old, and the food (whilst great) was a little pricey when compared with Michelin starred venues in London, but overall a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ_London77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    80
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
126
578
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the moment we arrived and a member of the staff came to our car to welcome us and offer us an umbrella we knew this was going to be a special place.
We could not fault anything about this hotel,everything was of the best quality.The afternoon tea was amazing as was the dinner in the evening.
All of the staff could not have been more helpful!So, if you are thinking of somewhere special do try the Summer Lodge,you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 11 ; Nice spacious room with bath and shower.Although this room overlooks the car park and gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDMWareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our 3rd visit to Summer Lodge for our Wedding Anniversary and yet again our stay was exemplary. We stayed for 2 nights in the beautiful Ivy cottage and enjoyed its 2 bathrooms, lovely bedroom with huge bed, and comfortable living room with cosy fire. The cottage also has its own jacuzzi.
What makes Summer Lodge so special though is its wonderful staff, who make your stay so special. Nothing is too much trouble.
Our thanks go to the General Manager Charles and his staff especially Max, Johnathan and Emanuel who are so knowledgable in their own fields.
We shall return to this very special place for many anniversarys to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayl341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Summer Lodge is a wonderful treat of a hotel where nothing is too much trouble. The room we stayed in had every possible requirement from luxury Ren bathroom products to homemade shortbread to accompany the tea tray. Everything was immaculate from the private balcony to the enormous bed which was comfort itself.
The food is delicious and the breakfast served in the conservatory overlooking delightful gardens starts the day in relaxed mode. We also made use of the spa having treatments and relaxing in the light, airy but warm pool area.
In the short time we were staying at Summer Lodge we visited the coast and a local National Trust property, we would loved to have stayed longer and can imagine a visit in the warmer months would see us sitting in the traquil gardens enjoying afternoon tea or morning coffee.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdyandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed at Summer Lodge a number of time dating back to 2001. It has gotten better on each of my stays. This most recent visit was no exception.
On arrival we were shown to our room which was in the coach house. I wasnt really that happy with it to be honest as I was hoping to stay in the main house. We got that sorted out very quickly and I was happy with the choice. The room was large and the bathroom well appointed I would say that some of the rooms are starting to look like the could use a fresh touch up but overall the standard remains very high. They have recently re painted the main sitting rooms which look great. Breakfast here is superb with plenty of choice and the quality and servce excellant. We ate over at The Acorn one evening and had a super meal. The prices are very resonable. The Dorset countryside is beautiful especially in the sun shine! and there is plently to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We decided to spend two nights here at quite short notice, for the simple reason that we needed something to lift our spirits during the misery that is England in October.

What a fantastic choice it turned out to be. As stated elsewhere, Summer Lodge is not a large hotel; it is a country house with around twenty rooms.

The room itself (we chose a slightly larger room with a king-size bed) was excellent. There was clearly a great attention to detail, and the bathroom was amazing. As well as providing fruit and water, they also had tea-making facilities; a lot of posh hotels deliberately don’t provide this so that you are forced to order from room service.

Most of the staff are French, or at least they sound French. (I have never understood why people would choose to move from France to a colder and wetter climate). They were charming and helpful, making our visit a truly delightful experience.

The restaurant is at the heart of what Summer Lodge does and this too was first rate. The set menu at £40 gives plenty of choice, and the a-la-carte menu is only a bit more expensive. There is also a “tasting menu” but (on this visit) my appetite did not extend this far.

As our visit was in the run-up to Halloween, the wonderfully eccentric gardener was busy preparing a bizarre floral display outside the hotel’s main door. This featured a bubbling witch’s cauldron, a plethora of pumpkins, a giant snail and a (fake) dead rat in a bell jar. Different.

The location of this hotel is an ideal base for exploring Dorset. Sherborne and Shaftesbury are nearby and (in better weather) the beaches of the Jurassic Coast are also a shot drive away. The “hotel information” book in the room gives detailed suggestions about things to do and places to visit.

My only gripe relates to the wines. They are generally expensive and (on the first night) the grumpy and humourless sommelier clearly disapproved of the fact that we had chosen a bottle costing a mere £40 (you could choose one costing £3,900 if you felt so inclined). Fortunately a different and somewhat more friendly sommelier was on duty on the second night.

This aside, I highly recommend Summer Lodge. I shall starve myself before a further visit so that I can do justice to the tasting menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Summer lodge is absolutely lovely in every way. The rooms, the decor, the service, the divine food... and the great location in the middle of the beautiful countryside of Dorset. My husband and I spent four days there in early September and were fortunate to have unusually beautiful weather. And while I could easily reiterate the glowing reports of the previous reviews, I will rather add a suggestion....take the time to meet and visit with Summer Lodge's charming general manager, Charles Lotter. He was full of great recommendations for outings during the day and was a wonderful resource on the history of the area. My favorite outing was a glorious picnic lunch prepared for us by the chef (wicker basket, blanket, wine and all!) that we took to the highest point in Dorset which was the site of an old iron age fort. It was spectacular.

Also, don't miss enjoying the Acorn Inn down the street (also owned the by the hotel group). Great food in a bit more casual setting.

We look forward to returning to lovely Summer Lodge. It was perfect.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
19.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
21.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
440 reviews
15.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
754 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Property: Summer Lodge
Address: 9 Fore Street, Evershot DT2 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hotel Evershot
Summer Hotel Dorchester
Summer Lodge Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing