We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Albert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
West midlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here Tues 14 Feb, and was very pleased at the choice of hotel, All the rooms are the same good standard, and staff were also pleasant and accommodating, Evening meal which we had in the bar was also top class, just one down side, the bacon at breakfast was too touch over cooked, should have sent it back, but on the whole first class

Room Tip: No problem with noise, so all rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    84
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
112
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel several times, it is in a slightly remote place and very quiet on a night. The only downside for my husband is there is no pool, If you want comfort & elegance this is the place. We even stayed on our honeymoon in June.

The staff are lovely & the food is very good. There is ample parking also. The rooms are very clean & of a high standard.

Definately would recommend. Susan

Room Tip: All rooms seem similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel the service was great fantastic polite staff. Comfortable room very clean as good as it gets. The hotel is well worth a stay it's privately run the service and food is delight

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melp485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited here last week for a corporate lunch. Nearly drove past the place, looks like a satellite station, but very slick interior, spacious modern and in a quiet location. Soup was a little watered down, but Salmon main course was very nice and the pineapple pavlova too.

Staff were very helpful, a good place for a gathering.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently held our daughters wedding at this hotel and it could not have been bettered.
The functions managers could not have been more helpfull and everything was organised exactly as requested. They worked so well with other people involved like the florist (The Flower Shed of Broadmayne who incidentally were wonderfull and we highly recommend) to ensure everything came together on the day.
Everything went to plan on the day thanks to the hotel staff who were friendly and helpful and worked so hard. As far as the food was concerned we chose a carvery and many many guests commented on how good it was and that it was the best they had had. We often go up for a Sunday carvery and I've not had better anywhere.
If you stop the night as we did you'll find the rooms clean, comfortable and very roomy and the breakfast was also very good (especially the sausages)
We would definately recommend this hotel for a fuunction and as a place to stop. One word about the location. The hotel is high up on the hills between Dorchester and Yeovil with lovely views to the front but is not near a town but several villages with nice pubs nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredsays169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is surreal. We arrived on Thursday for a two night break and found the hotel nearly deserted, apart from staff that is. One the first night there were only a handful of cars in the car park, and on Friday there were only 4. In such circumstances one may expect the hotel facilities to be somewhat reduced but not in the case of the George Albert. Lots of staff to help you with your every need. An excellent restaurant serving good quality tasty food - you must try the cheese soufflé!, with attentive waiters. The rooms themselves are great. Large bed with flat screen tv and free wireless internet access. Honestly, if you need a room in this area you will not be disappointed if you stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NoLeakHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My mother has just returned from a midweek break at this hotel, she had a wonderful time. I contacted the hotel in advance to inform them of my mothers limited mobility, they replied straight away to allay any fears about walking down long corridors etc. Mum got a room near to the lift which was excellent. The food was great and so to the atmosphere. Very helpful staff made my mums stay very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
751 reviews
20.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel

Property: George Albert Hotel
Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your George Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing