We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George Albert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just had a brilliant 5 night break in this hotel. Spotlessly clean, bedroom was huge and breakfast more than filled you up. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help you. In my opinion this Hotel is definately worth more than the 3 stars it has. On the side of the main road, but still the rooms were very quiet and with air conditioning, a real bonus. Will certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    85
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
114
10
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
yeovil
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been a tour operator for over 10 years and have used many of the best hotels in Europe for events that I have organised. The George Albert (whilst not yet a five star hotel) has many features that far in a way exceed these hotels. Service is outstanding, Jason and his team have the guest at the forefront of everything they do, absolutely nothing is too much trouble, whilst not obvious and fussing over guests, there is always somebody there and willing to carry out requests. Dining facilities are excellent, they have a very talented chef who clearly knows what ingredients to buy and what to do with it. The food is presented very well and the quality is better than most restaurants in the area, if you are looking to go out for a meal, I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment. The rooms are big and well decorated, have outstanding views and are very clean and tidy, the beds are a joy to sleep in!
Overall this hotel is faultless and comes with the very highest recommendation I can give it. Thank you to Jason and his entire team for being a real credit to your property and the hotel industry in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July 2013 on a business trip whilst in the area. The hotel is located in a beautiful part of the countryside with a clay shooting range and go-cart track next door. On approaching the hotel you realise that the car parking area is not quite finished but do not let this put you off. Once inside this 'chic' hotel you are welcomed by a friendly receptionist who provides all the information you need. I stayed in room 11 which was very large and extremely clean....and the room had air conditioning which was most welcome. The lounge and bar area was comfortable and quiet so I was able to do some work before dining in the main restaurant. The food in the restaurant was extremely well presented and tasted as nice as it looked - definitely worth a visit and was of good value for the food quality of food cooked for you. The breakfast was a good selection and what you would expect from a decent hotel - again the quality of the full English breakfast was great and served on hot plates! The free internet access was very good and easy to use, just ask for the log-in code at reception. Every member of staff that I met was very polite and helpful and greeted you with a smile.....just what you need when you are away from home - a friendly face. Overall a really good hotel which I would recommend if you plan to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Room 11 was large and had a good view of the countryside and car park when standing looking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerynmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel itself is exceptional, from the warm greeting on arrival, the decor, cleanliness, room size, quality of food and superb staff. Really couldn't have wished for better and was surprised to find it on a par with high end London hotels. If I wanted to "nit-pick" I could suggest a better range of fruit and yogurt for continental breakfast and the toasters are erratic but the full English is excellent.

My only true reservation would be the locality. It's perfectly clear on the website that the hotel is remote; until one faces the reality of winding, single lane, steep incline Dorset roads its difficult to appreciate what the remote location actually means. For me, as a solo traveller, it wasn't a problem. Since I knew there was absolutely nothing within walking distance by way of evening entertainment I was easily able to organise suitable alternatives. I would suggest families would need to be very organised in packing the car for the day because the George Albert really isn't close enough to anywhere to "nip back" for anything.
For a peaceful stay in a beautiful location I would heartily recommend this fabulous hotel and will certainly return myself.

Room Tip: Others have commented about the shooting range. I was at the rear of the hotel, overlooking the rang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billie1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Another on the road stop and a great one at that. We were greeted well and the room was excellent. Well placed on the main road and not to far from Yeovil to go out for the night. The price was acceptable and the breakfast was well presented and substantial.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a lovely hotel - staff were very helpful and friendly, the comfort factor was first rate, food in the Kings restaurant was very high quality and the breakfast very tasty. The best thing was I put on the booking form that it was my daughter's 16th birthday and in her room was a card and some confetti and some choccies. Then at dinner he dessert cam out with writing all around the rim in chocolate saying happy 16th birthday. Very thoughtful and very kind and very much appreciated. Made a lovely weekend even lovelier!

Our only tiny gripe was the cardboard pillows. However, I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford, Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staff friendly. Room excellent standard. Hotel very clean and tidy. The best sausages I have ever had for breakfast. The one and only low point, was being woken up by loud delivery/workmen early in the morning. (This may not have even been anything to do with the hotel!)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loftmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
888 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
494 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
774 reviews
9.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel

Property: George Albert Hotel
Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your George Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing