We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Albert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in this area to hold a weekend conference, and this fits the bill very well. Rooms are a good size, the bathroom was spotlessly clean, and the beds very comfortable Service was very good, and the food well presented, with a varied menu to suit most tastes. The conference facilities are well set up and available at reasonable rates. Our room was at the rear of the hotel, and if you are not a very good sleeper, the sound of the air conditioning plant on the roof may intrude, but I did not find that to be the case.
We have booked it for our conference.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, the rooms at the front don't have air conditioning plant above them.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for George Albert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 277 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

The GA Hotel is a pleasant enough place to stay in Dorset. Newly built next to the Clay Pigeon kart track, caravan park and shooting range. Rooms are clean and reasonably sized, breakfast was okay apart from the coffee. When we stayed there was a rowdy wedding party but their noise didn't carry up to the bedrooms. What did was continuous drone from some kind of plant at the back of the hotel. Not enough to spoil our stay but intrusive nonetheless. Avoid rooms at the back if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porpentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

In Dorchester for a family celebration and had stayed at the hotel before. We were not disappointed, great room, excellent food in restaurant and fantastic staff service. It's true that it's a little out of the way but the views more than make up for that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Sitting right on the top of Warden Hill, the highest point for miles, the George Albert is a two years old four star hotel situated in the grounds of Southern Counties Leisure, which boasts an international standard go cart track and an World class clay shooting ground.
The rooms are well sized and equipped with triple glazed windows which ensure the hotel is both quiet and refined once you pass into the lobby area.
The restaurant serves food all day, and we can recommend the buffet breakfast which is served until 1030 (or it was when we stayed there). The staff are polite and attentive without being intrusive, always a plus for us.
If you visit, you will be smack bang in the middle of Thomas Hardy's Wessex (Evershot was the Evershead of his novels), and the local inn, the Acorn was called by Hardy 'The Sow and Acorn'.
Five miles from the Cerne Abbas Giant, surrounded by picturesque Dorset villages (see our other reviews of local inns) and a short drive to both Dorchester, then on to Weymouth, the George Albert is the perfect base if you are planning a short break in Dorset.
If you are a karter or clay target shooter, you will have a one minute walk to what is fast becoming Britain's best karting and clay shooting facility.
The hotel has conference facilities, but as of writing does not have a pool or fitness centre.
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side are furthest from the outside sports facilities, but all are equally quie...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeffandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The organization I work for chose the hotel as the location for their strategic awayday, or two days to be precise. The hotel is well positioned in roughly the centre of Dorset and was a relatively easy commute each day. The meeting facilities are very comfortable, so often not the case in other hotels. The temperature was fine too on what were cold days outside. Audio visuals were plumbed in for Powerpoint etc. The lunch buffets were a bit bland, and white bread focused, but they were still tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in Dorset house hunting and needed a hotel for a couple of nights near Dorchester and Sherbourne. We picked this hotel based on reviews and then I found a really good deal so the room was practically half price. The hotel is a bit in the middle of nowhere so if you don't want to eat/drink at the hotel you will have to drive. We opted for the hotel bar as we had done a lot of driving during the day and the meals on offer were a resonable selection. Our meals were cooked really well, beautifully presented and not pricey. The breakfasts were good as well, a buffet all you can eat type. Staff really friendly and helpful, the room clean, modern and the bed really comfy. Couldn't ask for more really.

Room Tip: We were in room one and could hear the function going on below. It wasn't that loud or a problem...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank confusedfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a KGB deal at the George Albert with my husband. I did not research the hotel before we went so it was a nice surprise to be stayinf somewhere that was clean and modern. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, always with a smile. Our room 29 was very spacious with tea and coffee making facilities, and the King size bed was very comfortable. The shower was to die for! The food at both breakfast and dinner in the Kings restaurant was excellent and the chef must be congratulated for his presentation.
The hotel is on its own and although you could book clay pigeon shooting and there was a go-cart track there was nothing else to do. As it only opened in 2010 maybe the addition of a swimming pool, gym etc. would enhance the stay.
As others have said a designated smoking area would be useful and away from the main entrance and not in view of the restaurant.
We enjoyed our stay and would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
192 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel

Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: $97 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your George Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing