We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay- providing you have a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Albert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place to stay- providing you have a car”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. Very quick check in. Our room was very spacious and having a table with 2 chairs made a huge difference to the room. Excellent storage space. The hairdryer is a little frustrating as you have to hold down the red button the entire time you are using it, otherwise it switches itself off (you need strong thumbs!) An excellent choice of channels on the TV. The bathroom was immaculate with a lovely choice of toiletries and towels. The walls in the room could have benefited from some more pictures on them as they looked quite bland. The bed was massive and very comfy. There was a small stain on one of the scatter cushions. The in room hot drink options were lovely. We went to breakfast at around 8.40am- most of the hot breakfast choices had already run out with only sausages and eggs left. A good choice of cereals/ pastries etc and the yogurts were delicious. The breakfast drink options were very good. During the day you can hear the sound of the clay pigeon shooting but this didnt bother us really.The dinner and bar menus are quite pricey - my dinner was £17 and my partners dinner was £21. Expect to pay around £10 for a burger at the bar.The food was lovely and well presented and cooked perfectly. With regards to the hotel location you need a car to go anywhere. The hotel is very isolated. Without a car you are stuck, luckily we had a car. We looked out for a bus stop and failed to find one anywhere along the very long road. The hotel is aimed at couples and businessmen. There were no kids at all. There was a guest who had ordered room service and left the plates outside their room. These plates were not removed for quite some time. My partner and I had gone out for the day in the morning and when we returned the plates were still there. I agree with other comments- a swimming pool would be ideal because the location does restrict you slightly.

Room Tip: ask to be near the front of the hotel as the shooting range is at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreygirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    88
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
119
10
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Weymouth, arriving at 11.30 at night. The receptionist gave us the room at a discounted rate due to our arrival time. The hotel is very clean and modern, our room was excellent. Bathroom was large with plent of power to the shower. Bed was very comfortable with Egyptian cotton bedding. Breakfast was filling with plenty of choice. Staff were pleasant and obliging. We will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendalkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Two night stay at this hotel was excellent, spotless rooms and bathroom and the shower was powerful and hot. Good breakfast and friendly staff.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanieBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The George Albert fully deserves its AA 3 star rating. The staff are welcoming, the rooms are clean and more spacious than say a Premier Inn and after a long hot day the shower was perfect. Although a little limited on public rooms the bar served a real ale (Doombar when I visited) and good food. There was a queue forming 20 minutes before breakfast on Sunday morning so they started early, another sign of the excellent service. I've stayed in many 5 star hotels where they could learn a lesson or two from the George Albert on customer service.

Room Tip: Ask if a wedding reception is being held and request a room not above the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish_by_choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I enjoy staying here. Its good value at £65 B&B as long one plays a game. Louise on reception offers one price, whilst searching via Trivago gives a price as much as £30 less, depending on the day. Dunno why i have to play price games.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTravelsLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Don't hesitate. Lovely hotel 9 miles from Dorchester 8 miles from Yeovil. Modern Hotel with beautiful furnishings, very clean, wonderful staff, lovely rooms and the best Breakfast Buffet we have ever had. Underrated should be at least a 4*.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location if you want to explore Dorset and Weymouth by car. It’s a short drive to nearby attractions yet located in a quiet and isolated area.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable; our room was a good size with a big bed, flat screen TV and large bathroom.

The hotel has been open for approx. 2 years. It’s modern and has large grounds with activities on site such as Clay Pigeon Shooting and Go-Karting, which would be great in the summer time.

We had dinner at the bar restaurant and my partner and I ordered one minute steak and triple cooked chips which was delicious. The breakfast buffet has something for everyone from full English to continental breakfast to fruits and cereals.

The staff are very accommodating and friendly. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing, comfortable stay in Evershot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Internationalbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
902 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
185 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
498 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
10.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel

Property: George Albert Hotel
Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your George Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing