We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Albert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Two night stay at this hotel was excellent, spotless rooms and bathroom and the shower was powerful and hot. Good breakfast and friendly staff.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanieBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for George Albert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

The George Albert fully deserves its AA 3 star rating. The staff are welcoming, the rooms are clean and more spacious than say a Premier Inn and after a long hot day the shower was perfect. Although a little limited on public rooms the bar served a real ale (Doombar when I visited) and good food. There was a queue forming 20 minutes before breakfast on Sunday morning so they started early, another sign of the excellent service. I've stayed in many 5 star hotels where they could learn a lesson or two from the George Albert on customer service.

Room Tip: Ask if a wedding reception is being held and request a room not above the function room
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornish_by_choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I enjoy staying here. Its good value at £65 B&B as long one plays a game. Louise on reception offers one price, whilst searching via Trivago gives a price as much as £30 less, depending on the day. Dunno why i have to play price games.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTravelsLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Don't hesitate. Lovely hotel 9 miles from Dorchester 8 miles from Yeovil. Modern Hotel with beautiful furnishings, very clean, wonderful staff, lovely rooms and the best Breakfast Buffet we have ever had. Underrated should be at least a 4*.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location if you want to explore Dorset and Weymouth by car. It’s a short drive to nearby attractions yet located in a quiet and isolated area.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable; our room was a good size with a big bed, flat screen TV and large bathroom.

The hotel has been open for approx. 2 years. It’s modern and has large grounds with activities on site such as Clay Pigeon Shooting and Go-Karting, which would be great in the summer time.

We had dinner at the bar restaurant and my partner and I ordered one minute steak and triple cooked chips which was delicious. The breakfast buffet has something for everyone from full English to continental breakfast to fruits and cereals.

The staff are very accommodating and friendly. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing, comfortable stay in Evershot.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Internationalbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a modern and well-appointed hotel, with lovely furnishings. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist. The bedrooms and bathrooms are a very good size, big comfy beds and pillows.
We had dinner in the Kings restaurant and the food was delicious. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choice. The staff are very friendly, attentive and helpful. We only stayed one night and wished we could have extended to an extra night.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Chose this hotel to celebrate my partner's birthday for a couple of nights. We were intending to explore the Somerset/Dorset area and this hotel was very well situated for this.
On arrival, the receptionist said she had allocated a room at the rear of the hotel to reduce road noise but if we stay here again I would probably request a room at the front because of the shooting range (next door) which sprang into action around 10am both mornings.
The room was lovely and probably one of the best we've stayed in. Pillows lovely and soft, a large comfy bed, plenty of wardrobe storage AND table and chairs. Bathroom...so clean and a huge bath including adjustable shower.
Dinner in the hotel's Kings Restaurant was a joy, my scallops were cooked to perfection and I had the most gorgeous lamb dish with sublime dauphinoise. Nice wine list too. Breakfast was good, everthing you want for breakfast including a lovely view.
We would not hesitate to return and do it all again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have less road noise but rooms at the front probably better when the shooting starts arou...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VetBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
192 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
8.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel

Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: $97 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your George Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing