We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, we would be happy to stay there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Albert Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The room was large, clean and nicely furnished with freeview t.v. and internet access.The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean with nice towels. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good and better than some of the well known restaurants in the area. We had a lovely time in Dorset, and the hotel was a very pleasant surprise as we were not expecting it to be so nice.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Minnie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

In a rural part of England dominated by boutique cottage B&Bs, charming delapidation, lumpy four-poster beds and museum-quality plumbing, it is nice to be able to spend the night in a bright, clean, totally functional hotel where the wi-fi works, and so does the power shower. Delightful!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rignana007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a two night break. Bedroom was large and comfortable, with bathroom good size and all spotlessly clean. All staff friendly and helpful. Evening meal was excellent and breakfast was buffet style with good variety and freshly presented. Only criticism would be that the bar is rather impersonal, feeling more like the extension to reception area than a comfortable and intimate area where one can enjoy a pre dinner drink or, indeed, an after dinner nightcap. However, the value for money was second to none and we wouldn't hesitate to return again when we next decide to visit this delightful area of Dorset.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BacardiHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here just one night while touring this area of the country. It is in a rural location, but was quite convenient for our particular plans. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was quite large and perfectly clean. They were happy to serve our dinner in the bar/lounge area instead of the restaurant even though it was a bit more trouble for them. Overall this was a very pleasant experience and good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

A modern hotel with good old-fashioned 'customer first' service! We had a few hiccups - each resolved within minutes with apologies and complimentary tea and coffee. We asked about some shops and within five minutes, the staff had offered to check the local shops to make sure they had our required goods in stock to save us an unnecessary trip and also printed off full instructions on how to get to the shops!
The restaurant service and food was fabulous.
All in all - we couldn't rate this hotel highly enough and can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Excellent hotel, clean, fresh and very friendly and helpful staff.
We will be staying here again next time we are in Dorset.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Member0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A fairly new hotel built very close to Clay Pigeon Shooting and Kart Clubs. A very comfortable rooms with spacious bathrooms. the main restaurant food is of a very high standard. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you do not have a room on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie_bird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evershot
2.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
944 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
200 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
19.0 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
634 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Albert Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Albert Hotel and Spa

Address: Wardon Hill | Nr Dorchester, Evershot DT2 9PW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Evershot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Evershot
Price Range: $81 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Albert Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Albert Hotel, high specification purpose built hotel opened in 2010, at the world status clay shooting ground on the A37 between Dorchester Dorset and Yeovil Somerset. Convenient for the olympic sailing centre of Weymouth (20 miles) and an ideal base to see the best Dorset and Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your George Albert Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Albert Hotel And Spa Evershot, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing