We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch to be remembered”

Restaurant at Summer Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Evershot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $152
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely location in Hardy,s Dorset, this beautiful spa/ hotel/ restaurant met all our expectations. Booked for a party of 12 for a special birthday celebration, and catered in advance for any allergies or special needs, the waiters did a great job. Thanks to Eric for some lovely wines and to Steve for great food.
The drinks in the bar beforehand were very nice in front of a log fire ( and this is jUne!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BucksFizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Restaurant at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear BucksFizzUK, thank you for this wonderful review of your celebratory lunch. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed this visit and Steven the Chef and Eric the Sommelier are thrilled to be mentioned by name. I hope you will visit us again soon. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Restaurant at Summer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 250 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited this high class restaurant for the first time in several years having heard a number of stories about the ownership but was not disappointed. As on previous visits, the ambience is excellent the staff extremely attentive, the food outstanding and overall made a fabulous special meal out.

The choice of a "surprise menu" selected by the chef was excellent with six small (but adequate) courses all of great food. Choosing one "with wine flight" option was perhaps not such a good choice with essentially 4 glasses of wine for £50. The wines were very good and the sommelier was excellent but the cost is a little too high I felt. Thus the value marked down a little.

Highly recommended for that special dinner to impress!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank AndyAquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Restaurant at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear AndyAquila, thank you so much for your very kind review of Summer Lodge. I appreciate the concerns you had regarding the change in ownership ten years ago and I am relieved to see we did not disappoint you. The teams in the restaurant and kitchen are both delighted to see how much you enjoyed the tasting menu with matching wines. Because you live close to the hotel, we hope it will not be another decade before you viist us again. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently had the fortune to dine at Summer Lodge. From the moment we arrived we were looked after by a host of impeccable, professional and attentive staff. Everything from the timing of our order, the swift arrival of drinks with delicious canapés, being taken through to dinner and the service at dinner was perfect. We had the tasting menu which I would highly recommend, though wish I had more room to eat it all! It was delicious and would highly recommend. Am sure we will be going back at some point and would definitely recommend for a special occasion or a weekend treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LAK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Restaurant at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear LAK01, thank you so much for this kind review of your dinner at Summer Lodge. It is so heartwarming to see all the aspects of your dinner you enjoyed. Hopefully, it will not be too long before you visit us again. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Superb food and service, worth every penny, staff attentive but not pretentious, will be returning soon,

Thank davec06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Restaurant at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear davec06, I am delighted to see that you found the staff attentive yet not pretentious and that you thought we were worth every penny. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this very kind review of Summer Lodge. I hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Gorgeous English country garden setting where every little detail is paid attention to.
My husband and I had been once before for afternoon tea, and were so impressed that we took my Mother in law for Sunday lunch in honour of her birthday.
Everything from being guided into our car parking space, umbrellas being handed to us as we stepped out of the car, being greeted and warmly welcomed by every member of staff that we met just added to the sense of occasion. Everything that we ate and drank was delicious, beautifully presented and served gracefully and discreetly. Nothing was too much trouble yet staff had a sense of humour and weren't stuffy at all. As someone else has written here, you must go at least once, but keep it for special occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mistyweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot1, General Manager at Restaurant at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear mistyweaver, thank you so much for taking the time to post this very kind review of your meal here at Summer Lodge. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed afternoon tea and subsequently, Sunday lunch to celebrate your Mother-in-Law's birthday. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back. Sincerely, Charles, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Summer Lodge also viewed

 
Chetnole, Sherborne
 

Been to Restaurant at Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing