We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away with relations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Bere Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away with relations”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a very nice stay at The Old Mill. They made us very welcome. Our rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. It was a good place from which to visit the Royal Signals Museum and the coast of Dorset which is spectacular at any time of year.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran_eade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
86
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I and my partner have stayed at The Old Mill a few times now. The rooms are modern extremely clean as well as being comfortable. David and Lorna are always welcoming I would recommend a stay here there is not a thing I could fault.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CLAIRE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

i stayed here last summer, but didn't get round to writing a review. we were walking the dorset jubilee way. so only stayed 1 night. It couldn't have been better. beautiful room. lovely breakfast. we were treated like old friends. met the children. looking down into the old basement was very interesting. also- it's worth going to the church in bere regis, if you are interested in thomas hardy. and his Tess of the d'Urberville book.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for one night in August. Great location, peacefull yet easy ro reach. The welcome by David and Lorna was very welcoming, the room was immaculate, with a clean friendly decor. Comfortable bed, tv, coffee. Breakfast the next morning was very tasty (especially the home made jams and preseves (which you can also buy during your stay) ) and fresh local produce. The view through the floor, made for great conversation.
Will definately be back....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Warm hospitality and service. Newly renovated Mill with nice features. We had the use of two rooms which where both tastefully furnished and equiped for a comfortable stay. Easy off street parking. Village shop, pub and church only a short stroll away. Great location for attractions in Dorset and New Forest.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Espoo358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Old Mill. We received a very warm welcome from owners David and Lorna and their absolutely gorgeous baby Louisa! The rooms are all newly completed and very comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful, all locally sourced fare and cooked to perfection by host David. A very relaxing place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cranborne Room which was very spacious on the top floor. It boasts a beautifully c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineEsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night with springer spaniel in tow. Booked only a couple of hours before arrival. Absolutely lovely place, hosts were very welcoming, was made to feel like I'd stayed before. The room was spotless, felt guilty having a dog in there but David and Lorna had no issues with it. Bathroom beautifully decorated. Breakfast was excellent. Could not believe the value for money. Thanks for a lovely stay, next time in Dorset this will be the first place I try to book. Good luck for the future. CB

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DustyB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bere Regis
0.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
132 reviews
7.6 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
926 reviews
10.7 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
5.2 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Old Mill West Street | West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bere Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Bed and Breakfast has been recently established from the original village water mill which dates back to about 1750. Set in its own grounds and paddock of nearly 2 acres, and bounded by the Bere Stream, the Old Mill provides very comfortable yet modern en-suite accommodation in four large bedrooms. The Old Mill has a lobby, cloakroom and breakfast room on the ground floor, accessed via your own front door and four very comfortable en-suite bedrooms on the first and second floors each of which can be provided as a double or as a twin room as you prefer. Each bedroom has a restored antique brass, iron or wooden bedstead giving either a Super King sized bed or two 3 foot singles, as you prefer, by arrangement. In addition, we have 2 z beds which can be made up for a child under 12. All the bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, a built in wardrobe, a chest of drawers, flat screen TV, freeview, free WIFI and tea & coffee making facilities. All the rooms are furnished with antique and period furniture and pictures appropriate to their Dorset names. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast Bere Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing