We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and Authentic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Cottage

The Swallows Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Swallows Cottage
The kitchen looks on to our garden The lounge with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
The Swallows Cottage
The kitchen looks on to our garden
The lounge with open fireplace
The garden with picnic table
The bathroom
The main bedroom
Second bedroom
Looking out over the garden from the main bedroom
French doors open on to the garden
The garden from the fields behind
The cottage is in the infamous lane known as Shitterton
Swallows cottage looks out on to open fields to the rear
The Bere Stream, two hundred yards along the lane
Rope swing on Bere Stream
Man o' War Bay on the nearby Jurassic coast
Durdle Door is one of the closest coastal beauty spots
Swallows Cottage in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bere Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David F
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely and Authentic”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Really sweet little cottage in a character village. Well located near major roads. Our family of five from Australia loved it....but watch your head if you are 6 foot tall!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane W
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just.....wonderful!”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

When we saw this cottage on the website we thought it was a little slice of heaven. When we got to Bere Regis and looked around the village and the cottage we knew we had found a slice or two of heaven! This was our first trip to Dorset and I have to say the best holiday for many a year!

The cottage has a wonderful and well equipped kitchen diner which we spent a lot of time in. The bathroom and toilet are well presented with all modern fittings....just a little patch to finish painting! Thats how up to date it is.

The sitting room has a piano and beautiful period furniture which is well loved and used. The TV is easy to use but was only on for brief periods in the evening because we were so lucky with the weather and went out every day.

The bedrooms are accessed via a steep narrow staircase in keeping which twists its way to the two bedrooms. The first just fits 2 single beds with a lovely small window to peak out at the weather. The larger room has a double and a single bed with 2 windows, front and back. The wardrobe is on the very small landing as is the boiler and utility cupboard. Bijou and compact as they say but perfect for that short stay.

The garden is delightfully private yet overlooks a walk that is well used by the local dog owners. They are all a very friendly chatty community and we loved to talk to them in the evening and find out about the area.

We would love to go back and happily recommend this cottage...we now have a thirst to visit much more of Dorset!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was such a beautiful cottage inside and out.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckydevi...
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“much improved, now definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is our second visit, last year we were disappointed with cleanliness of this cottage but have accepted the owners apology and returned as requested to check out the changes made, the changes are fantastic and the cottage is much better and well worth a visit, it is ideally situated on the edge or the village or Bere Regis & gives a good base to explore south Dorset & the Jurassic coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: beds a bit to soft, like sleeping on a cloud, we are used to a firmer bed.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzierl
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I booked this cottage for a weekend and we could not have been more thrilled. The cottage was absolutely perfect and was thoughtfully stocked with everything we could possibly need and want. My daughter loved the garden and the bedrooms. I cannot recomend this cottage highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nampara6
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely detached thatched cottage in quiet location but pub and village shop only a short walk away. Cottage was very well equipped including dishwasher & washing machine (very useful as we had our grandsons Tomas 6 & James 4 with us). It was also very clean.
We knew the area well because we lived in Bovington many years ago. There is so much to do without travelling far. We took the boys to the Tank Museum, Studland (Knoll Beach), Corfe Caste, Swanage, the steam railway, Monkey World, the Blue Pool/Wareham Bears and Lulworth Cove. The weather was lovely so we spent some very happy hours on the beach - although the parking charges at Knoll Beach are high (£9 but free if you are a National Trust member) you do have good facilities there and it is all sand which the boys loved. If we had staying longer there were other lots of other places we could have taken the boys.
I found the owners of the cottage very helpful and the information pack they sent through very helpful. Also considering we went during the school holidays I found it very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a break in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character & facilites - two toilets very useful particularly with children.
Liked least: Low door ways (my husband is 6ft) but it has got to be expected in a cottage.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing