We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cabins, but poor communication within staff.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bere Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorset Golf and Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cabins, but poor communication within staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

At arrival. Were notified by staff at desk that we were too be in a ground floor cabin. Rather than the two storey cabin we were told we would have.

Wasn't really a problem, as the log cabin was very nice.
Apart from the dishwasher not working for two days.

The group ate in the restaurant a couple of times.
I would say it was a hit and miss regarding the food. On those two occasions.

Overall I would say it was pleasant accommodation and surroundings.

But the service, ie communication.
Could be improved in many ways.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Public Relations Manager at Dorset Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We're sorry to hear about the obvious confusion experienced upon your arrival. When staying in our Resort Houses we never guarantee the specific House or Style you stay in as bookings do get moved around. This is done to ensure the best experience possible for all our guests. This really isn't a problem as all the log homes are designed, built and furnished to the exact same standard and all hold a 5 Star Gold Award for quality. Looking at your booking which was made through an agent it is their responsibility to convey our policies to you. As they clearly didn't it is easy to understand your disappointment. With regards to the dish washer, I'm sure your aware as to the speed the issue was dealt with. Our maintenance team looked at it straight away and the products support engineer was also booked and organised that same day for their next possible appointment. I would be happy to discuss your other communication issues if you wish to contact me. We would of course love to have you staying with us again and can only apologize for the two disappointing aspects of your stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across these beautiful lodges at The Dorset Resort whilst looking for last minute breaks. I have to say that we are glad we found them. The lodges are fantastic with all the amenities you could need including free wi-fi, tv as well as your very own sauna and situated in a beatiful setting. The location of the resort is very central so visiting Weymouth, Lulworth or Poole is only a short car journey. We are looking forward to staying for longer next time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stumbled across this by accident during an internet search for a holiday cottage. The lodge we stayed in was first class! Everything about it was superb with lovely decor and a very well equipped kitchen. The sauna was an added bonus! Our dinner in the Club House was excellent. I would highly recommend this lovely venue. It is central to all of beautiful Dorset and the ambiance is relaxing and peaceful. The resort is mainly aimed at golfers (which none of us are!) I cannot wait to return and shall be booking a longer stay in the very near future!

Room Tip: Sleep quality only given a 4 because there was only one double bed and the remainder of the rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willywonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Visited the Dorset Golf & Country for society golf weekend and everyone I spoke with in our group were very complimentary about this golf venue. Firstly the golf, this was excellent with a well maintained course offering 27 holes of challenging golf. The weather (unlike many British summers) was excellent for golf, 3 days of "wall to wall" sun!

We stayed in the Dormy Rooms which were fairly basic but very clean and tidy which is all we wanted for our golf WE. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and good size portions, and service we received from all the staff was first class. If I had one complaint this was the lack of a swimming pool, and as this was the hottest weekend of the year this would have been a brilliant facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break with friends to play golf,didn't know what to expect
but pleased to report that we all enjoyed the venue.
We stayed in the dormy house where the rooms are basic but very suitable for this kind
of trip.Food was good,staff very helpful and last but not least the courses ie 3x9 holes
quite testing and all with a very interesting design.
I fell that the golf courses were not in particularly good condition but the weather over the last
few months has not been helpful.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Public Relations Manager at Dorset Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride our selves on offering great food and a warm welcome. Thank you for understanding that our course is in no where near the condition it should be due to the awful weather we've experienced in the early part of this year. It has pushed the mandatory course maintenance work into the season where it would normally have fully recovered at this point.
Our Golf Lodge Hotel is going to be our next focus for improvement, we of course currently have our twelve 5 star gold award Luxury Log Houses and our Woodland Cottage which offer our guest the ultimate experience.

We hope to see you back here sometime soon to enjoy our course at its best and maybe even tempt you to upgrade into our luxury accommodation for only £4.00pppn! Trust me it's worth it!

We would like to wish you a Great Golfing Season this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently travelled to the Dorset Golf Resort for a golf weekend with friends. The lodge we stayed in was perfect for a group, clean, spacious and to a high standard.
The food in the Hotel restaurant was very good and the staff and bar staff in general with very hospitable.
Unfortunately the weather was very wet which didn't doa great deal for the golf but the 3 courses looked to offer a challenge if it had been dry. Definitely a good venue for golfers who want to stay on site for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lodge if there are 6 or more of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just returned home after a 3 night golf break with 3 others. Stayed in a log home and it was excellent. Very spacious, clean, warm and inviting. We did have a couple of niggles with the TV, it is only basic Sky in the log cabins and our tv was showing all in red colour only, so within an hour Jason the maintenance man had replaced the tv and the sky box with freesat, very good customer service. Food went from - in our group of 4 - excellent to very good albeit they ran out of sausages on the last morning breakfast service. Re the golf: the greens seem to be afflicted with the growing problem of unrepaired pitch marks but the courses were in reasonable nick considering the awful weather recently. No problem recommending this location but do try to get a log cabin, cannot comment on the hotel rooms as none visited.

Room Tip: West Bay was our lodge and the property faces a wifi aerial router so service was very good, watched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bere Regis
4.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
9.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.9 mi away
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Golf and Country Club

Property: Dorset Golf and Country Club
Address: Hyde | Nr Poole, Bere Regis BH20 7NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bere Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 12 Luxury Log Homes are located less than 150 yards from our fantastic club house and golf courses. Our log homes are the perfect base for your next golfing holiday; every stay includes free golf on our superb 27 holes of Championship Golf across our Woodland, Lakeland and Parkland courses. The Fairy tale Scandinavian-style houses at the Dorset Resort are very different types of buildings not often seen in the English Countryside. Made entirely from trees grown in the Nordic forests of Finland, these houses create a unique healthy living environment because the wood "breathes" whilst at the same time being a better insulator than brick. The homes combine simplicity with luxury, the natural oiled pine floors, walls and ceilings create a remarkably relaxed living space and all the furniture and fittings are of very high quality. People are able to rent periods from 2 days to 4 weeks in these wonderful homes, enabling them to spend quality time in this picturesque area of Dorset. All the houses are set in a quiet woodland glade surrounded by stunning fir trees and wonderful wildlife, birds, butterflies and animals abound in this forest setting. The Dorset Golf & Country Club hosts some of the most challenging golf in Dorset and is recognized as one of the golfing gems of the South of England. The Martin Hawtree designed; Woodland, Lakeland are Parkland courses are built to full USGA specification and are extremely well maintained, presenting excellent playing conditions for all levels of golfers. With the addition of our Woodland Cottage, 16 twin bedroom Golf Lodge Hotel, Fitness Center and 3 Rink Championship Indoor Bowls Facility we really do have it all. Dorset is a Perfect place for a Golf Break or Self Catering get away. So come and have your next golf or bowls holiday at our fantastic Resort Village, you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dorset Golf And Country Club Bere Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing