We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honeycombe Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Bere Regis B&B and Inns
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wonderful! Can't praise this B&B enough. Heather is the most welcoming of Hostesses and upon arrival invited us to have tea with her in her lovely old kitchen. We stayed in the oldest part of the house, 500 years old, with the bathroom in a converted cupboard which just added character and charm to our stay. The bedroom was clean, comfortable with a view of the garden and about 4 times as big as the double room we had in London! Fantastic breakfast cooked to order. We were encouraged to explore the beautiful garden and find fruit off the trees in the orchard. Altogether a perfect visit and one we will remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Upon arrival around 5pm, we were welcomed in by Heather, who transpired to be the most hospitable of hosts. The cottage itself is beautiful and the thatched roofs that not only span the main house but its outbuildings is a joy to behold. In regards to the room, it was large, comfortable, and decorated to a traditional style (which may not be to everyone's taste). One would assume it was a mini library given the number of books on display. We stayed in the room above the kitchen and it comprised its own bathroom with no stand up shower given the nature of the grade two listed property, which was no problem and in fact encourages one to take a bath, a rarity these days. Heather was very informative and told us of the local pubs, and where best to eat. In reality the only option if you do not want to drive is the Drax Arms in the village but the food there was nice and they also had Badger Beers for the real ale fans. Nothing was a bother for Heather and she kindly supplied an iron and ironing board.

The bed was a delight and so comfortable, with two singles pushed together. Breakfast was plentiful with the eggs a particular highlight. Supposedly I was the first person to request a fried and a poached egg! I highly recommend this place in terms of comfort, location and moreover the hospitality. The dog is lovely also. It was a shame we could not enjoy the wonderful gardens given the time of year we visited. Hopefully we will visit again in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lakes
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our second visit to Heather and Duncan wonderful couple,and we are always sure of a lovely welcome.
We know the area very well and would not consider staying anywhere else.
Fantastic Cottage we feel so relaxed after our stay, what more could you ask for wonderful food and hospitality, I love the cottage kitchen reminds me of mine.
Duncan I love your honey and Heather you cook all Duncan's foods fresh from the garden there delicious.
Looking forward next year and every year after, no where else for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beautiful cottage and really beautiful friendly people, the bedrooms were clean and really pretty. The breakfast was out of this world, and never too much trouble for Heather, we were there for two days but I will never forget those days. Thank you so much Heather xxx

Room Tip: The room overlooked the very pretty garden, it was very clean and it was so quiet and peaceful, did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelafagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On our arrival, we were greeted by Heather, a lovely lady who immediately offered us a cup of tea after our journey. Her hospitality and warmth was to continue throughout our stay (three nights). The cottage is stunning, with all its old features and beautiful garden (tended by Heather and Duncan). Breakfast just delicious, especially the fruit salad, we felt privileged that Heather and Duncan shared their beautiful home with us and made us feel that we were at home.
We had a wonderfully, comfortable bed and little touches like fresh flowers in the room. We certainly plan to return, it was just so lovely and relaxing.

Room Tip: There are only two guest rooms, this is Heather's and Duncan's home which they are happy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaterMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last minute getaway, this place was beautiful, heather and her husband were lovely people who made us feel very welcome, the gardens were out of this world, such a peaceful and relaxing place. Perfect breakfast in the garden with as much food as you wanted. Met a lovely couple who we ate breakfast with, wish our stay was longer. We will be back. Keep up the good work heather, thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Everything was perfect, nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit this year to Honeycombe. A beautiful chocolate box cottage with equally stunning gardens. The rooms are comfortable and cosy. The breakfast is delicious and sets you up for the day.Hosts Heather and Duncan make you feel more like family than guests,and not forgetting Zula the gentle Labrador. Richard and Karen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucifer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bere Regis
0.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
129 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Hilltop Barn
Hilltop Barn
#1 of 3 in Winterborne Zelston
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glampotel Bere Regis
Glampotel Bere Regis
#2 of 3 in Bere Regis
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeycombe Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeycombe Cottage B&B

Property: Honeycombe Cottage B&B
Address: Sitterton, Bere Regis BH20 7HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bere Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As dreamy as its name, this is a 16th-century cottage in the village, with deep walls, open fireplaces and flagged floors. The cottage has a garden that blooms as wonderfully as the cottage and, up under the eaves, soft curtains, soothing colours, aromatic oils and delicious beds. Have breakfast in the homely kitchen, or outside on fine days, where lawns and borders drift effortlessly into orchard, fields and hills. An all-year-round delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honeycombe Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeycombe Cottage B&B Bere Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing