We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Brunswick House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Teignmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brunswick House
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Teignmouth
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely stay
We found this really charming B&B close to the seafront, at good value and with excellent service. The owners, Margrethe and Pete were very welcoming and friendly. They recommended nearby restaurants for the evening (we loved Fresco’s) and our breakfast was generous and superbly cooked by Pete.
The B&B is a homely Victorian terrace with beautiful hanging baskets at the front and nice artworks inside. Our room was very comfortable, quiet and clean, with a good shower in the en-suite.
It is very close to all amenities also a long sandy beach and the quaint river beach with its fishing boats, beach huts and passenger ferry.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend it..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I hadn't booked anywhere for my whistlestop in Teignmouth and chanced on this charming little place. Two minutes from the sea front in one direction and restaurants, pubs and shops in the other. A friendly welcome from Margarethe, then breakfast served by Peter. A splendid couple, dong just enough. It isn't 5* but it doesn't claim to be! Lots of interesting objects throughout the house for travel enthusiasts. I also commend them for tring to be 'green' as much as possible.
Well done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian Ka'an, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

having read the negative reviews on this guest house,i have to disagree.brunswick house is close to the sea front and reasonably priced.pete and his wife are truly wonderful,really friendly and love a chat and a laugh.we came across this quaint little guest house by chance seven years ago,and have been back the last seven years for a weekend in june.the past 2 years friends have come too.rooms are basic but fine for a base and to sleep in.bathrooms clean and all you need.teignmouth is a lovely old fashioned resort with plenty of nice pubs,and places to go in the area.we intend to go for as long as the lovely pete is there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have stayed here recently for business purposes in a single (room 1) and a triple (room 8). The building is impressive from the outside and well signed, a large bench on the pavement offers a rest spot and a seat for smokers. The interior is warm and homely and whilst not cluttered certainly has some interesting pieces on display. The hosts were friendly and went out of their way to help with any queries. I cannot comment on the breakfast as that was not part of the package that I had.

Room 1 was situated to the rear of the building. It was compact but serviceable with heating adjustable to your preferance, the adjoining bathroom and toilet was sufficient and above all the room was clean. The bed was a single and a bit soft for my liking but thats just a personal issue. The hospitality tray was ok. If you like soft towels bring your own otherwise get ready to exfoliate.

Room 8 was situated on the top floor and was just as clean and warm as room 1 with a larger bathroom and very hot shower. Again very clean with an excellent double and single bed.

I had a very quiet stay but it was January, perhaps holiday makers are noisy in the higher season. This is a fairly priced b&b and you get what you pay for. There are plenty of good priced hostelries within a 5 minute stroll and about 2 minutes walk is the sea front and pier.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveHutch48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

There is a standard below which there is no such thing as good value. Brunswick House was quite economic and the couple running it were friendly enough, but the beds were dreadful, the windows rattly and draughty and the towels were the roughest ever experienced.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Teignmouth hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

If you love hard towels, a bed with springs pushing through & an anaemic breakfast it’s the place for you.
This is not an unjustified opinion as we have been taking walking holidays on the coast path in the South West since 2006 and this place was by far the worst we have stopped in by a long way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcoastwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

A well positioned B and B close to the see and centre. But disadvantage of no parking spaces. You have to either park on the road which has limited waiting or on a car park up the road used as a thouroughfare by clubbers.

Owners were very friendly and breakfast was excellent. However we had cold showers, a very soft matress (some people may like this) and noise till the early hours of the morning from the clubs/pubs behind the B and B.

  • Liked — closeness to sea front
  • Disliked — lack of parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.5 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thornhill Hotel
Thornhill Hotel
#3 of 18 in Teignmouth
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton House
Lynton House
#17 of 18 in Teignmouth
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick House

Property: Brunswick House
Address: 5 Brunswick Street, Teignmouth TQ14 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Teignmouth
Number of rooms: 333
Also Known As:
Brunswick House Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing