We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Pier

Grand Pier
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shabby”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Old and very dated, sorry to say needs a total update. Amusement arcade needs work and the outside areas are mostly closed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    61
    96
    51
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clearly out of date”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I love typical British holiday destinations and their so obvious attractions, unfortunately despite Teignmouth being a lovely place to visit, I really would rate the pier as anything worth noting.
It is clearly out of date and needs some investment to make it an attraction worth visiting. However on my visit the extreme end of the pier was shut for maintenance, so maybe just maybe they are doing a little work to it.
Its the usual walk through the amusement arcade (full of old but not interesting antiquated machines) before you get to the outside pier.
Come on lets see some investment in it and make it something Teignmouth can be proud of.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommostours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Classic British seaside pier..lots of machines 2p, 10p, 20p etc, even some £500 jackpot machines as well. End of the pier was closed so couldn't walk all the way down definitely worth a visit if you have kids and its raining, will easily pass the time

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelAndEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Fun for Families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a great time, many machines cost just 2p, we loved
the horse-racing game, the basketball games, great views of the coast, takes me back to my childhood!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Atticus681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

They still have the machines in there from 40 years ago...and the modern ones they did have swallowed your money....recommend you pass it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank janeej62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Pier also viewed

 

Been to Grand Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing