We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit. We will return.”

Crab Shack on the beach
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family of commercial fisherman with two working fishing boats. The Crab Shack is a small restaurant on the back beach in Teignmouth where we serve fresh seafood.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“First visit. We will return.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very friendly, small bistro style restaurant on the back beach. Nice menu, small but the food was delicious and the service excellent. As it is small you need to book and it is worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jandono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    107
    28
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quantock Hills
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday lunch”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Took hubby here for lunch following recommendation from a friend, fabulous lunch and atmosphere. Service exceptional! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuantockFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spider crab heaven in Teignmouth”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Gloomy November Sunday, hunted down this hidden gem in Devon. Watched as freshly caught spider crab sandwiches were made, popped to the quarter decked restaurant for great fries and wine to wash them down. Fantastic service. Heaven! Five stars thoroughly deserved for great tasting good value food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“INEFFABLE !!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Absolutely beautiful.... By far the best Fish I have tasted this side of the globe.... My meal was superb I ate with my fiancée & my mother & there crab was quite simply mouth watering , you could tell how fresh it was... I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys good food not just seafood the staff & owners are very welcoming the whole place is very warm & homely.... Definetly worth 5 *****

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood straight from the sea, right on the beach”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Food here is delicious, fresh seafood, cooked simply and served with wonderful bread and the most wonderful fries. The service is great, the staff really friendly, and it's a great location right on the beach. We even had a seagull tapping on the window as we ate! The food is really good value. Puddings were also lovely- worth leaving room for. It's very popular, so booking well ahead is definitely recommended. If you can't get in there is a take-away shack a few steps away serving fresh crab etc, also delicious. Looking forward to a return visit, and will be ordering crabs for Christmas.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newstigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Shack on the beach also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to Crab Shack on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing