We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely friendly place”

Crab Shack on the beach
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family of commercial fisherman with two working fishing boats. The Crab Shack is a small restaurant on the back beach in Teignmouth where we serve fresh seafood.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely friendly place”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

the food is amazing and the staff are friendly and take time out to show you how eat the platers. be back very soooon x

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    110
    28
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The place to eat great fish in Devon”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Brought my parents here as they appreciate good seafood . Comment from father 'worth travelling 400 miles for!' Up to its usual very high standards, even the vegetarian option for those in the party that prefer not to eat fish or meat. Crab soup stood out. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayingadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great lunch, very attentive and accommodating staff. Tasty food and wonderful sunny day made for a great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joerepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never fails to delight - tantalizing the taste buds yet again!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Returned to bring my Mum on her second visit and my Dad (aged 92) for his first visit, whilst they are here on holiday with us. Yet again the Crab Soup is fantastic and what's even better, you can now buy some to take home! We bought all that was left. Scallops and dressed crab were chosen and all eaten with relish. Enjoyed watching a couple with the crab and lobster claws who seemed to be eating forever, and they loved it. Knickerbocker glory for my husband and ice cream for the rest of us. Will look forward to our next visit. As with previous visits, would recommend booking as on each occasion, quite few people were disappointed as it was fully booked!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, U.K
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“amazing food, wonderful staff, what a gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were made to feel so welcome from the start. The menu was fantastic. We ordered the seafood platter. Obviously for novices that we were we needed some guidance which the staff were only to happy to oblige. The gin and tonic cheesecake was divine. Saw you on hairy bikers programme cc couple of weeks ago do will have to return when the spider crab is on the menu, many thanks for a very memorable experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Majabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Shack on the beach also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to Crab Shack on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing