We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“How could anyone complain?!”

Review of Crabclaw Cottage

Crabclaw entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crabclaw entrance
Sitting room We are just a few steps from the water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Crabclaw entrance
Sitting room
We are just a few steps from the water
Kitchen area
Master bedroom
The river beach, known as Back Beach
River Teign
Breakfast bar
Washing up area
Hand sink
Comfy sofa
Bunk bedroom
Super kingsize bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Teignmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LightPack...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How could anyone complain?!”
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 11 nights, and could not complain. We were greeted by chocolates, biscuits and a bottle of wine. It is a lovely little cottage with all the amenities you would have at home. It is located seconds from the sea and a 5 minute walk from the town centre. There is street parking close to the cottage and a carpark that is very reasonably priced. I honestly do not know how people could complain about this lovely fishermans cottage, it has everthing you could ask for to have a great seaside holiday, I will be recommending to friends and family.

Ps the bed is absolutely amazing, super kingsize!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arriba197...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb !”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Loved this cottage which we spent the week into new year in. It has everything you could need, is comfortable in a wonderful location. Back beach about 20metres away. Pubs within 2 mins walk. Bliss....
I'm staggered people have negatives to say about it but some people are just life's moaners I suppose.
Parking for free is available if you look around a bit. I didn't pay for parking all week and parked in 3 different locations. Will return in the future for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenchop...
Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super cottage close to beach.”
Reviewed December 18, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We've just had a super short-break staying at Crabclaw Cottage in Teignmouth. Warm, clean and comfortable. Everything we could have needed was provided, including a lovely welcome package of treats. Could have saved myself tonnes of suitcase space by not carting hairdryer, shampoo and shower gel around. Did not meet the managers, but arrival and departure all very easy due to a key box and code. Cosy and perfect size for me and my two children, although due to very steep staircase, probably not suitable for the elderly or families with very young children. Super close to Teignmouth back beach where the kids loved collecting shells and a great skateboard/scooter park / playground and mini golf area nearby to keep them occupied. Also very conveniently located for the town centre - everything is within walking distance. Will definitely try to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing we disliked
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poppy730
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“It's not good for parking or nocturnal bladder emptying or dining”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

It wasn't clear to me that the toilet was downstairs and via a slightly precarious flight of stairs as well, we had issues with that , you may not of course .
Secondly parking is leaving your car for a week in the town car park some 150 yards away.
In the height of summer this restricts your activities as your constantly worried about losing your space your less inclined to take a trip somewhere also there is the constant concern about your distant vehicle and it costs to park
Thirdly there are some neighbour issues across the road and cars constantly reshuffling and negotiating the narrow street and dog excrement on the street was a concern!
You can't dine inside as a family there's no room or proper table forcing you to dine out at cost! There is a table outside on balcony but obviously weather dependant and food would have to be taken upstairs through the bedroom!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wifi
Liked least: Downstairs toilet and no dining
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milla100
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in a beautiful location & gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage was cosy and spotless. There was a lovely welcoming package and the cottage is well equipped with all that you need. The owner are extremely thoughtful and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this and will be going back again.

When you are there, check out the lovely art work and ceramics in the cottage and the local shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of cottage and cottage itself
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesHenr...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect property in an ideal location”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Crabclaw for a week in mid May. As usual we were lucky with the weather. The cottage has everything you could possibly want or need, in terms of facilities and equipment. There was a welcome pack, as well as wash tablets and detergents etc., which left us only needing to buy the food we would need for the week. It has adequate space for a family of four. The balcony off of the master bedroom was an afternoon suntrap, ideal for enjoying a relaxing glass of wine. The cottage was unbelievably quiet at night, and we slept really well in the comfortable bed. We met Ann-Mari and Bob when we arrived to collect the key. We were given a really warm welcome and felt at home from the first moment.
We enjoy walking, and used local footpaths which were well maintained and well signposted. We also visited Totness and Torquay using the local trains. We only used the car on one day to travel to Haldon Forest where we tackled the Go Ape tree top course. Not for the faint hearted!
We had a fantastic week and would highly recommend the cottage and the local area. I feel sure we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We had everything we could possibly need to get started on our holiday.
Liked least: No down side we can think of.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! Ann-Mari and Bob were very helpful right from booking through to our stay. Information and directions were spot on and communication was easy. The location of the cottage is great and Teignmouth is fantastic - especially in February. We had a great time - walking to and on the beaches, up and down the front, into the town and relaxing in the cottage. The cottage itself is well appointed and wants for nothing - there is absolutely everything you need. A lovely touch from the owners - ,arrival there was a bottle of wine, fresh bread, cheese, butter, chocolate, coffee in the cupboard, crisps, etc. The cottage was exceptionally clean - I have to say this is the best place we have ever stayed on holiday and I would love to go back and stay again. We had a fantastic week...our two year old loved it there and the cottage was fantastic for her, so too for our dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is extremely well appointed - there is absolutely nothing that is missing or has been overlooked.
Liked least: Nothing - a great, great place to stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing