We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Christmas stay”

Review of Crabclaw Cottage

Crabclaw entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crabclaw entrance
Sitting room We are just a few steps from the water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Crabclaw entrance
Sitting room
We are just a few steps from the water
Kitchen area
Master bedroom
The river beach, known as Back Beach
River Teign
Breakfast bar
Washing up area
Hand sink
Comfy sofa
Bunk bedroom
Super kingsize bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Teignmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ambrosial...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Christmas stay”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We rented Crabclaw cottage over the Christmas holiday while we were visiting family in Teignmouth. We have two toddlers, aged 15 months and two and a half. Ann-Mari was exceptionally helpful, and even bought a stairgate for us to use during our stay.
The cottage is beautifully decorated, with lots of quirky touches. It's exceptionally well equipped, with all the appliances you could need, and generous supplies of cleaning products and loo roll, etc. I often find that holiday lets can feel a bit bare with just the minimum of everything, but that's not the case here. It feels like a nice lived-in, homely place, not an empty shell.
Ann-Mari is very thoughtful and we really felt that she had tailored the cottage to fit our needs. There were lots of lovely little touches like leaving an age appropriate toy on the coffee table which our two spotted the instant we opened the door!
We will certainly stay again, and I recommend it highly. I would say that the stairs are quite steep so could provide a challenge to anyone with mobility issues, but it's quite typical with these sorts of period properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tremendously helpful and thoughtful owner
Liked least: the stairs are a wee bit steep, but that's to be expected with this type of property
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellie71
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy, cosy cottage, very well stocked”
Reviewed January 31, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a lovely month at Crabclaw. The cottage was very well supplied with everything you could need and felt like home straightaway. Everything thought of and communication with owner very good. Very close to seafront, shops, rail etc. A lovely start to our new lives in Devon.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kt171
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, homely and perfect”
Reviewed December 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fancying a weekend away from everything with my dog I read the reviews for crab claw and was immediately drawn to this place. I've been coming to Teignmouth since I was a kid so I knew the area very well. This cottage is so lovely and in a perfect location and only minutes away from the sea front. But the one thing I can't stress enough is just how brilliant the amenities are. The cottage has sky tv not just down stairs but also in the bedroom. The cottage also has wifi and also a tumble dryer as well as a dish washer. There was honestly nothing I needed to go out and get because it was already there and ready for me. I was also left a little snack that included a bottle of wine and chocolates as well some milk, cheese and butter. Can not stress enough how fantastic this cottage is and with such nice owners that run it also. I will deff be back when I can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That everything was available, kitchen cleaning equiptment, towels etc as well as being left some food as well as wine - way more then what I would ever expect.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron R
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice cottage at a reasonable price in a very good location”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is well supplied with thoughtful extras such as beach towels , dressing gowns, and toiletries. There is also a welcome pack including a bottle of wine.The beach is literally 20 yards away at the end of the road and the shops/restaurants are within a five minute walk. Realistically, guests will have to park in a nearby car park (£4.40/24 hours) although they may occasionally be able to park in an adjacent street free of charge. The cottage has a small, but useful, balcony affording some views of the estuary. The rooms are quite small but comfortable and the kitchen is fairly new. A plus point- the shower works very well.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginmonkey
bicester, oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret - Don't Tell ANYONE!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd stay at this cottage and it just gets better. i couldn't review our last stay due to tripadvisors 12 month rule - but needless to say, we returned! I love this place. As always, there was a welcome gift of chocolates, croissants, home made jam and wine. Also a pint of milk, and butter. There was a big bag of ice in the ice box of the fridge - perfect for my gin & tonc on the balcony! Basics such as herbs, spices, cooking oil, tea and coffe are also provided. We are a 50+ couple, no kids, and the cottage suits us perfectly. However, if you have children or pets, you will find Ann-Mari & Bob have covered most bases. There are board games, DVDs and bucket & spades for the kids and food/water bowls for dogs/cats.
Everything you have at home you will find in this cottage: iron/board, washing machine, drier, micro wave, dish washer. Spare sheets and towels. After 3 visits i cannot think of one time where I thought "if only..." because everything is catered for. Teignmouth is a pleasant seaside town with nice restaurants and pubs. Once you stay at CrabClaw you'l never want to stay anywhere else! Thanks Bob & Ann-Mari xxx

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P F
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

owner helpful and friendly - cottage generously fitted out with everything we could have needed - easy walk from the prom, restaurants and shops - parking on the Strand was manageable - a very pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4emmalou1...
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent, a real home from home!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

An absolutely beautiful cottage, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Could not have asked for anything more. Ann-Mari and Bob are very friendly and provide everything for you. Superb location literally fall from your front door onto the back beach. Will def book again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: stairs
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing