We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and surroundings but .....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #15 of 77 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: this is a riverside pub with a new restaurant.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and surroundings but .....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The barman upon arrival has absolutely no charisma!
No greeting, or hello, just a "yes" to serve you. The food was delicious, and it was nice to be seated upstairs and be serviced our drinks by the delightful waitress, would couldn't do enough for you. If the surly barman doesn't want to work on the frontline of customer service, in a tourist area, then maybe he should exhibit his skills out of the public eye. Otherwise, the place was faultless.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    102
    27
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was anticipating a lovely meal in the upstairs restaurant of The Ship Inn over the Christmas break. On arrival at 1230 the restaurant was empty, which probably demonstrates the locals opinion of the food. Beautiful weather outside and the amazing location should have made the restaurant a buzz. It was disappointing.

A very limited menu without much variance on price. Fish pie contained very little seafood and the French fries were undercooked. After sending the fries back and asking for a replacement, they reappeared, undercooked again. Told by the waitress that 'this is how we serve them' did not make cream colored chips any more palatable.

Wine was expensive and the quality of the NZ sauvignon blanc did not warrant the price.

The view from outside, is outstanding, so try the pub for outdoor drinks in fine weather, but if looking for an enjoyable, leisurely lunch, I would try elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BristolMoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Busy local pub ..nice atmosphere and the food was excellent
Belly of pork and clams with otter beer
Prompt service and I would definitely go again
We did not have the famous mussels ..run out but would have liked to have !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lib572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Muscles ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I wanted to write to say The Ship in Teignmouth serves the best Muscles we've ever had!! We travel at least twice a month from Tiverton for lunch when we have a day off; (they're always fresh and locally sourced) and served in a choice of delicious sauces including marinere, chilli,lime and garlic and bacon,tarragon and cream.The presentation is also second to none!
As we travel for our jobs we have eaten in many places throughout the UK and abroad and would highly recommend this pub; the fresh muscles( the other dishes look great as well!) and its beautiful location!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

After enquiring about the Sunday Lunch menu when we booked, we understood there to be three different roasts, but when the waitress offered us a choice of two (Roast Lamb or Beef only) it transpired that there was only the one roast on the menu, and that was beef. The main course specials were sirloin steak or Hake, not much of a choice. Only one of the group had the roast beef, and had to ask 3 times before the horseradish sauce was delivered. When we ordered dessert, we were told that there were no 'Brownies' left, and only 2 portions of lemon roullade (we wanted three) The food was average, and service from start to finish was slow, Our first....and last visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing