We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great apartments!”
Review of Riviera Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Loved Riveria Apartments! What an amazing find! Clean spacious and with great views with parking!

Kitchen well stocked with appliances, bedrooms well decorated, bathrooms modern and clean.

Service great from lady on phone- very friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough to be helpful for us!

Location of the apartments is brilliant, near the seafront and just at the back is Teignmouth town centre which was great to go shopping or a bite to eat.

Cannot leave this review without mentioning the incredibly friendly local population - if you're not from Devon like us, then you may be just as bowled over at how nice people are in this neck of the woods. If we asked people for directions they insisted on taking us to our location, people smile and say hello, lots of friendly old folk too, and lots of friendly dog-walkers too. Lovely holiday vibe to the area.

We were fortunate enough to make friends with others staying in Riveria Apartments and had a look around the other apartments, Penthouse One and Two seem to have the best views, and so does Penthouse Five.

We have only one other place to compare Riveria Apartments to and that is to the other five star seaview apartments we have stayed at in Scarborough called The Sands. I would say that although The Sands in Scarborough were closer to the beach, Riveria Apartments were half the cost we spent on the penthouse is Scarborough and Riveria Apartments had lots more space in the apartments! In addition the locals in Scarborough we found to be consistently unfriendly to the point of rude which had sadly impacted on our stay whereas I really cannot emphasise enough how lovely people in Teignmouth are!

There was only one thing that I thought Riveria could maybe improve that would have led to me give five stars overall and that was the checkout time. Checkout is at 10am here which we found a little early for us.

It's really nice when you're on holiday to be able to have a lie-in to remind yourself you're on holiday and not at work!
However in order to get up, shower, breakfast, tidy up and double check our packing, we did have to get up at 7.30am on our check out day, which was not nice time to have to wake up when you're on holiday!!!
So if there was one suggestion I would request for next time is if there is any chance to extend the check out from 10am to 11am then this place would be perfect! Current check in is 3pm, but I'm sure most people would be grateful for an extra hour in bed on checkout day even if this means check in now changes from 3pm to 4pm for the cleaners to be able to service all the apartments? Just a suggestion to make this place absolute perfection :)

Other than this very small negative, everything here is lovely and I would not hesitate to recommend others to stay (in fact I have already to other friends!!). One word of advice: check availability as much in advance as possible, as the apartments are understandable popular. I know that we will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraApartmen... T, Manager at Riviera Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased to hear that you had such a good time and enjoyed the apartments and all that Teignmouth has to offer.

As you quite rightly state the apartments are very large and spacious and our check in/out times give us only 5 hours to clean 5 large apartments, this time is essential to ensure that high standards are maintained. Unfortunately for every customer who likes a lie in there is another who is keen to arrive early! Happily off season we are able to be more flexible and always endeavour to assist with a later checkout (or more often an earlier arrival for families with young children) where possible.

We look forward to seeing you back at Riviera Apartments in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 98 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We found it difficult to understand why we have not looked at this area before, the property and location was superb there is doubt we will return, apartments 1 & 2 is ideal for the disabled as all on one level, I had the wife's mother with us who has to use a wheelchair and does not like heights but had no problems at all

Room Tip: Apartment 1 faces east and north, apartment 2 faces east and south
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Felt very posh staying at these stunning apartments. We stayed at penthouse 5 which has the best views of any apartment we have stayed at. Loved it! Everything was as promised. Great place

We requested a cots and highchair, which were supplied free of charge.

Shame that no shower in en suite in master room (bathroom only) and don't personally like the wet room set up but that's all just personal taste.

Can't fault the place! Would love to come back..

Room Tip: Go for penthouse 5. Has to be worth extra!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stopped in Penthouse 1 for our Silver Wedding anniversary in April and it was amazing. The views of Teignmouth and Shaldon were fantastic, the rooms are so spacious and modern we didn't want to come home. The complimentary breakfast the morning after our arrival was a lovely touch as was the Easter egg. We loved it so much we are going again at the end of October and taking the family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I recently stayed at the Riviera Apartments and cannot praise the apartment and the service enough. Prior to my stay, Emma, who runs the apartments, couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. I requested two cots and highchairs, which were supplied free of charge, and they were great quality. The cot was an actual cot, not a travel cot, so my son was able to sleep in it and not in the bed with me.

The actual apartment (no. 4) was lovely. It was spacious, clean, stylish and built to a high specification. It had everything a family would need - from DVD player and WiFi, to an outside seating area and plenty of storage space.

I would recommend the apartments and Teignmouth to anyone thinking of going to Devon.

There are only two negatives, and they are small. Apartment four has a set of stairs in the living room. For any child under two, these might be a bit dangerous but they didn't cause us any problems.

The second is that Teignmouth doesn't have a very large beach, however, you don't have to travel far to find one.

All in all, great accommodation in a lovely seaside village. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraApartmen... T, Manager at Riviera Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hello, thank you for your review, your positive comments are very much appreciated. For future reference we provide stairguards for Penthouses Three and Four which are also free of charge, apologies that you were not made aware of this but please ask next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fab views and location, we love Teignmouth, the apartments are pure luxury and handy to have a parking space close by.
The children really enjoyed all the space and haven't stopped talking about the holiday flat since we got home!! - you do have to be very careful though keeping an eye on the children as the apartments are VERY high up.
Can't wait to come back for another comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is one of the best apartments we have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, comfortable, with superb views. It has everything you would need for a good holiday. Car parking is slightly tight, but does not detract from the overall quality of the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
0.4 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
248 reviews
4.0 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
710 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
337 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
551 reviews
6.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Apartments

Address: Den Crescent, Teignmouth TQ14 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Teignmouth
Price Range: $209 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riviera Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Apartments Bed and Breakfast is a collection of five luxurious penthouse apartments that are offered on a bed and breakfast basis in medium to low season. A complimentary Full English or Continental Breakfast is served in our restaurant The Beachcomber Cafe on the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Apartments Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing