We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
jef1963
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Good freshly cooked food - try The Lemon Meringue!!!!. Good prices,excellent service & superb views.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jef1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    188
    32
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Called in at the beachcomber as we were caught in the pouring rain, straight away a member of staff named Ruth was only to happy to welcome us in and found us a table!!!! Penny at the counter was friendly and so helpful. Lunch was fantastic and I will certainly be going back to see the friendly faces of penny and Ruth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola-xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a nice restaurant”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food here is very nice and they have a wide variety of options to suit most peoples tastes.We have always had to eat at one of the outside tables because the restaurant is not really accessable if you have a pushchair as it is up a flight of steps.The meals are a nice size although a little on the pricey side.The view from the outside tables is lovely as it is right by the sea although it can get a little cold and windy.The staff were polite but I did find that once the food was put in front of us, they went back inside and left us without cutlery which we then had to fetch ourselves.We also had to work out where to find the condiments and sauce.We ate close to closing time and the staff were clearing up as we were eating which made us feel as if we should rush our meal so that they could finish clearing up.As the bill came to £40 I wasn't very impressed at feeling like we had to rush our meals.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jools m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cafe with a great view but otherwise fairly ordinary”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This cafe has a wonderful view and good cakes but is let down by average (sometimes very rude - depending on how busy they are and therefore how much they need/value your custom that day) service. We have been to this cafe several times with friends and family as its great to look at the sea and the boats passing by, but we have given up using it as sniffy service from two staff members in particular has put us off wanting to spend our money there anymore. Its a shame. I can only think that (due to their great location on the sea front) they have so many customers passing by, they don't need to be polite.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMassey010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We welcome fair criticism and can only apologise if you thought any of our waiting teams behaviour was rude. We enjoy taking the time to chat with our customers but are conscious that this can sometimes frustrate other customers who are waiting to place an order. We therefore tread a fine line between serving at speed and delivering a first class service at the same time.

We do have an enviable position with beautiful views but I must stress that our customers, some of which we see so often that we consider friends are just as important as seasonal passing trade and are always welcomed with enthusiasm.

We hope to welcome you back to The Beachcomber Cafe one day and are confident that you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of cakes”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

A lovey place to visit for coffee and cake. Serving costa coffee and a wide range of homemade cakes, the malteser slice is highly recommended. Also serve a wide range of sandwiches and breakfasts.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alaistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing