We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe with a great view but otherwise fairly ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
Ranked #4 of 77 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cafe with a great view but otherwise fairly ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This cafe has a wonderful view and good cakes but is let down by average (sometimes very rude - depending on how busy they are and therefore how much they need/value your custom that day) service. We have been to this cafe several times with friends and family as its great to look at the sea and the boats passing by, but we have given up using it as sniffy service from two staff members in particular has put us off wanting to spend our money there anymore. Its a shame. I can only think that (due to their great location on the sea front) they have so many customers passing by, they don't need to be polite.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We welcome fair criticism and can only apologise if you thought any of our waiting teams behaviour was rude. We enjoy taking the time to chat with our customers but are conscious that this can sometimes frustrate other customers who are waiting to place an order. We therefore tread a fine line between serving at speed and delivering a first class service at the same time.

We do have an enviable position with beautiful views but I must stress that our customers, some of which we see so often that we consider friends are just as important as seasonal passing trade and are always welcomed with enthusiasm.

We hope to welcome you back to The Beachcomber Cafe one day and are confident that you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    173
    33
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

A lovey place to visit for coffee and cake. Serving costa coffee and a wide range of homemade cakes, the malteser slice is highly recommended. Also serve a wide range of sandwiches and breakfasts.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alaistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

me and my mum started going here as we could not find anywere good in teignmouth for breakfast ! are we glad we did ! the food is great the staff are very nice,its got to be the best place in town for breakfast

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmy4pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

I have only eaten in here once and the food was lovely, plenty of it and presented very nicely. My friends have eaten here often and it always looks very nice. Quite often go in for a cup of tea, and they are always very helpful. I think they could do with having more than one person behind the till as when someone orders coffee, your stood there ages waiting to be served. Always friendly though, and dont mind the occasional baby crawling around! Small selection of children's books and a toy which is helpful. Prices are ok, not really expensive....although wasn't too impressed last time we went in as I asked for a small glass of milk for my 3 year old and was charged £1.50 which I think is ridiculous! Apart from that, a lovely friendly place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrspumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corse Lawn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food with good views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Good service, good food, buzzing atmosphere. Keep up the good work!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing