We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great variety of drinks and lunches”

twentysix Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #19 of 77 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great variety of drinks and lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This cafe' has a great vibe and is a real gem outside of the city center. The decor is wonderful with many examples of local art. There are more drinks than I can name and plenty of different cakes and salads.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ich_leibe_leben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    64
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cream tea 11 july”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Never been to Teignmouth before and unexpectedly came across this cafe. It was delicious Great service, excellent food lovely atmosphere, we had a cream tea. the tea was fresh tea leafs and homemade

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clarehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A slightly hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I have, literally, just finished possibly the best cream tea I've ever had. This one was gluten free, though normal ones are also available, and yet it was light and delicately flavoured. Being a "cream tea" I had this with one of the many tea "infusions" available and must say it was very enjoyable. The staff were friendly, helpful, very knowledgable about their products and made my visit an absolute joy. Well worth a visit and a must if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PooplePeopleEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good lunch unexpected find, would certainly recommend and come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Never been to Teignmouth before and unexpectedly came across this cafe, bistro for lunch. It was delicious. Blue cheese and pear salad, nicely presented, very fresh ingredients, good service, nice atmosphere just off the beaten track but interesting view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A late breakfast with a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Despite living in the area, and visiting Teignmouth regularly, we had not before encountered this charming little French-flavoured cafe. We happened to notice the place while walking by, early in the afternoon, and decided to pop in for a late breakfast. Not noticing the time of day, nor the fact that breakfast is served until 11:30am., I asked for, and was handed, the breakfast menu. Our charming French waitress had a word with the chef, and then graciously allowed me to order from that breakfast menu. Now I am not saying that they will be able to accede to this request every time, nor would I expect them to, but the friendliness and charm of the staff and surroundings made for a lovely experience. I chose smoked bacon and continental sausage, which came with a poached egg, toast, tomatoes, fried potatoes and a salad garnish. My wife selected the sandwich of gruyere cheese and mushrooms, which also came with a garnish. Both meals were nicely prepared and presented. This charming little bistro makes a lovely change to the average pub, greasy spoon or cafe, so often encountered in our coastal towns. The first thing we noticed was the appearance of the premises, which has a sophisticated yet charming flair; so different from the average. The menus possess a European mix; the background music and charming waitress were unmistakably French; the food was different and refreshing and the whole made for a pleasant change. We fully intend to visit this establishment again, and look forward to sampling some of the other items on the extensive menus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed twentysix Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to twentysix Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing