We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bistro”

twentysix Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #18 of 78 Restaurants in Teignmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Bistro”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great service, excellent food lovely atmosphere. This bistro is a cut above the usual cafes and restaurants in seaside towns. It is spotlessly clean and very good value for money

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Snappycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    65
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

After being told at 2:35 that meals finished at 2:30 we moved on into Teignmouth and how lucky we did.
Finding Twentysix was a revelation not the greasy Joes prevalent in the town and on the sea front this place is definitely worth searching for. Home made and locally source ingredients' made the light lunch we had just the ticket, from Asparagus to the lightly poached egg, the fresh crab and the marinated prawns with a bevy of fresh bread to accompany.
Search out and enjoy this one well worth it.
The other café was closed as indicated when we retraced our steps with all the outside seating filled to overflowing with tourists enjoying the sun. What an opportunity missed especially when we hear these places complaining of the lack of trade, not so Twentysix well done and long may you cater for the discerning guests.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 7redadmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice place for lunch”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

decorated very nicely with friendly staff, 26 sells lovely sandwiches and paninis for lunch but is quite expensive, a little cramped at peak time and the cakes are too sickly even for my sweet tooth! worth visiting for a treat as the chef is excellent.

Helpful?
2 Thank hellomeggg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went for a "Murder mystery" evening and had a very good evening.. the "action" took place between courses of excellent food and the atmosphere was good...

Not a thing that we've ever done before, but will be keeping an eye out for more of their "specials"

ATB,J.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank merseygull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little independent coffee shop”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a lovely little find in Teignmouth! Great looking food, great atmosphere and fantastic coffee. All served with courtesy and humour. The lady making drinks made them just right. Fantastic to just 'chill', no rush to make us leave once we had finished our drinks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank biggurl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed twentysix Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to twentysix Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing