We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value and hot!!!!!”
Review of The Drakes Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Teignmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Drakes Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Teignmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Have been here many times over the years as a family and as a couple to dine only. The menu is simple but the food is always very nice and it is always hot. Good value and a full stomach. The only two things which could be improved is it is a little dated and the desserts are disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

No longer a hotel but very good restaurant serving good old fashioned wholesome food from roasts to curry and some fantastic desserts eg sticky toffee pudding and spotted dick. Been going here since finding it in the summer. The food is well presented and good sized portions. I don't think that I Will ever tire of this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brummymunckin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have eaten loads of times here on our visits to Teignmouth the food is a reasonable price and yesterdays Sunday Lunch at £5.65 each was outstanding beautiful fresh meat (beef and lamb) that melted in you mouth and fresh vegetables cooked to perfection (this coming from a fellow chef). Great staff and another warm welcome from owner Roy. The B&B part has now closed so there is just the resaurant now but worth a visit you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chefzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed here so we could see in the New Year with family.
First impressions were that we were not getting anything special for our £44 per night. Actually what we got was a room with electrics that seriously need sorting (I mean, come on, pinning an extension lead to the wall does not constitute as wiring!), a radiator that turned off at midnight plunging the room into freezing temperatures, old blankets for extra bedding as the summer quilt was not adequate, broken lights in the bedroom and bathroom and a shower that worked when it wanted. We didn't feel we wanted to stay the second night, so we checked out the next day. We wrote to the hotel asking for a refund for the second night's cost and outlined the issues with the room, but to date we have heard nothing.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burtsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Teignmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Thornhill Hotel
Thornhill Hotel
#3 of 18 in Teignmouth
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Minadab Cottage
The Minadab Cottage
#1 of 18 in Teignmouth
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton House
Lynton House
#17 of 18 in Teignmouth
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Apartments
Riviera Apartments
#1 of 2 in Teignmouth
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drakes Hotel

Address: 33 Northumberland Place, Teignmouth TQ14 8BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Teignmouth
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Drakes Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing