We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of an update”
Review of Cliffden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliffden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teignmouth
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My sight impaired sister booked in for a 4 night stay in August, together with a sighted companion. The Reception area is tiny, cramped and right in front of the main door entrance, with one staff booking in and out. Very busy with people bumping into each other - a disaster waiting to happen. The hotel is tired and in need of modernisation. A visit from Alex Polizzi would do them a power of good! Entertainment was promised but failed to materialise. On the positive side, the staff were friendly but in short supply and overstretched. Overall a poor experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseKTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 254 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We needed a hotel with a room for a disabled person. The room was lovely and the bathroom perfect, with grab rails. The staff were most helpful and cheerful and used to dealing with people with 'needs'. It was a coincidence that my blind friend and her husband joined us for dinner when I hadn't know in advance that the hotel is part of the Vision group, specifically adapted for the blind and partially sighted. I'm afraid that dinner wasn't as good as it could have been. My husband and I had fish which was fine but our friends had pork which was very tough. Breakfast though was excellent. There is a swimming pool which looked very good, and large gardens with a gate at the bottom leading out onto the Promenade.
We will stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a lift to the other floors but the disabled room is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opera-lover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We found that the hotel was really good - breakfast was excellent (plenty of choice, good quality and attentive service); the room was superb (clean and large, the powerful shower was a joy!), the staff are friendly and willing to help. We would go back again, and probably will. A bonus was interacting with blind and partially-sighted people and their wonderful doggies! The main road up above was very un-busy after the rush hour, so was not obtrusive at all. Surely only sad people miss wi-fi in their rooms! And so close to town (and we were there in Carnival Week)...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Hotel is actually a care home run by a Charity who do great work for visually impaired people. This means that there are loads of dogs around (of course) and many residents on short breaks who need real care and attention. We were not aware of this when we booked. The food is mediocre and the room we had, which was a good size, was also by the lift doors that banged whenever shutting. if you now this is the nature of the hotel, enjoy dogs, and are happy to accept a compromised hotel experience, then this is fine. It is in a great position and was clearly once a luxury hotel. Many years ago.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorsetEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Cliffden Hotel was very comfortable although the reception area was small and a bit dingy. The rooms were large and clean. There was a nice bar and restaurant as well as a lovely outdoor garden area. The breakfast was very good. I have two complaints, as it was a Sunday and they were serving meals in the restaurant, I asked the gentleman behind the bar what time pub snacks/food would be served. The gentleman I spoke to told me 6:30pm We waited around in our rooms for a couple of hours and then went down to the lounge to have something to eat and found that they did not serve food on a Sunday until 8:30pm. We could have had a full meal in the restaurant but we didn't want that. We ended up going into town for food. Another complaint was not having wi-fi in my room, I had to go to a public area of the hotel. I would still recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Teignmouth area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

A very tried looking hotel inside,with a outstanding garden outside.
Room was not that clean,with shower room the same,no attention to detail was noticeable,
It was on a very busy road, which was very noisy.A nice swimming pool, with poor dirty disgusting changing rooms,and broken lockers,
Entertainment was a singer who was there to entertain himself , he didn't no any requests asked?.we then had two power cuts which actually livened up the night in the bar.
Breakfast came, they had forgotten the tea pot and are toast, which we had ordered.
Outside a beautiful garden which was a lovely walk a
round.
Staff were not welcoming or show any interest in the guests.
Will not be staying here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel it's self is in a great location, has stunning grounds & the reception staff where very friendly. Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbours and as our room was located next to the lift we where constantly being woken up by passer Byers. Also the breakfast wasn't to a very good quality. The facilities for the blind are fantastic & was refreshing to see a hotel that provided for there needs. Was just unfortunate that we had such a central located room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
3.6 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
342 reviews
6.2 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffden Hotel

Address: Cliffden Hotel 20 Dawlish Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Teignmouth
Price Range: $94 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffden Hotel was built as a private House in 1815 for Sir John Strachan on 35 acres of grounds adjacent to the Dawlish Road. The original gardens were built in the Regency style gardens, with smooth lawns, shrubberies and trelliswork and wall-plants against the lower storey of the house. In 1988, the then current owner Dr Mules retired, he put Cliffden House up for sale with the understanding that it would be used for "greater good". The House was purchased by Guide Dogs for the blind and converted to a hotel which offer accommodation to both blind, sighted and partially sighted guests. The hotel now sits in 7 acres of landscaped gardens, and a short walk through these private grounds brings you to the glorious seafront at Teignmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cliffden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffden Hotel Teignmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing