We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliffden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cockhaven Arms(Bishopsteignton)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
92
82
52
34
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
82
52
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful groundsvision hotelthis hotel caterslick of paintlovely hotelclub roompleasant walkextensive gardensguide dogevening entertainmentan indoor swimming poolnon profitdisabled peopleprivate gategrooming roomdogs are allowedwell behaved dogs
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 278 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My stepson and his new wife had their wedding reception in the grounds of the Cliffden...

We had a big marquee on the lawn and use of the summer house... it was amazing and the grounds are a perfect setting for the photographs...

The management were very helpful

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merseygull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Lovely old style hotel, tall ceilings, balconies with views, old style service and a decent size en-suite bath room. Fabulous for a romantic or quiet weekend, set in a magnificent garden. Although we did not have impaired eyesight we noticed the hotel made a special effort for visually impaired guests. (Guide dogs welcome) The management and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our only small criticism was that the TV was old fashioned and didn't receive many channels. The Indoor pool was a decent size, well maintained and illuminated by day light. This would be my first choice hotel in Teignmouth.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanster707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night to visit friends near by. Our first impression was that this place looked great with nice gardens and lovely views. But we were disappointed with our room. Our room was in the main house above reception, a large room but the décor looked tired, so did the en suite bathroom, No plug in the sink and the toilet flush handle kept falling off. Breakfast was ok, although service was slow.
What the hotel does do well is look after visually impaired people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We could not have asked for a better last minute booking, felt a little smug as we drove in under the arch to reveal stunning grounds, beautifully kept with ancient trees, a real hidden treasure. Our room was spotless and the whole hotel felt it had been really well looked after, no bumps or scratches to be seen. Feels like a well loved home. Staff so friendly and attentive. A real wooden cot for our son rather than some flimsy travel version. Excellent quality breakfast. The pool was fab and the lifeguard was quick to make us feel at home throwing some toys in for our 1yr old son to play with. Key for gate at end of garden onto seafront was great bonus and regular walks through garden back and forth an absolute pleasure! We love the story behind the hotel and it's current link to supporting blind people. Lot's of little extras for the dogs too like clean towels in the entrance and kennel staff to wash them off for you back

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goandgetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Cliffden, originally built in 1815 is a family Hotel set in 7 acres of beautiful gardens, It specialises in holidays for blind and partially sighted people and offers a warm welcome to everyone who stays there. The rooms are comfortable with en suite bath & shower. Some have wet rooms and disabled toilets. Sea view and balconies are a splendid bonus with some rooms.The staff are the friendliest in the business and go out of their way to make you feel at home and part of the family. The restaurant and food are excellent, offering a good range of TDE and AlC menus, well cooked, well presented and well served. My only regret is that our stay wasn't long enough to try everything on the menu. There is a very good indoor swimming pool with life guard at all sessions and swimming aids available. Guide dogs, assistance dogs and friendly pet dogs have the choice of excellent facilities including spend , free run areas and shower. Free parking and free broadband are all part of the Cliffden service. Through the gardens, the sandy beach and promenade are only a few yards away as is Teignmouth shopping centre. Trips to beauty spots and other attractions are organised by the hotel and in house entertainment in the lounge. Night service is always available I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel whether for a family holiday, singles, business or small conference. We have booked to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mibagentsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews