We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talk Of The Town - CLOSED

Talk Of The Town
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Wales
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the third year i have visited talk of the town with my family,and each and every time we have visited we have had excellent food and the service is very friendly and welcoming would highly recommend for families.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A culinary experience so dire it bordered on the comedic.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Went here with husband part of long weekend touring the area. Arrived just after 8pm greeted by sulky young woman who groaned when we had the audacity to ask for a table. After seeking approval ok for us to have table put, without any pretence manners , at table. Gave order drinks which in spite having bar in same room had to wait long time for. My meal a simple steak and chips arrived after 45 mins and did not possess one element which wasn't old, over cooked and of obvious poor quality. When sent meal back no apology from sulky waitress told have to pay. I refused and eventually manageress brought in and accepted not have to pay. Never here again though happy lots of other local eateries we visited

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justdesserts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

stopped here the other day with a couple of friends. nice and friendly staff and great food, was delighted with the milkshake that I ordered it came topped with whipped cream and marshmallows cant ask for more than that

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marc186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

had a get together with old friends and this place was chosen for price and menu choice,a little something for every taste. the welcome was good, service more than helpful and the food was better than expected, good well cooked food quality for the price, affordable for everyone.a really enjoyable night.will be having another get together and this is where it will be. thank you for a memorable night .

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

this was my second time visiting talk of the town as i come to Teignmouth once a year on holiday! I loved it last year great food for the cheap prices and is so helpful with the recession we are in. However i did find it looked quite old fashion before hand like it needed a refurbishment. When i came and visited this time the place was completely new, looked really posh with all new oak tables and leather chairs made the place look the extra bit inviting. They also have a fish tank know. So pleased its still the same people running it though as their food is as good as ever and great value. Defiantly visit you will be pleased-the service is also magnificent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talk Of The Town also viewed

Teignmouth, Devon
 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing