We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Grizedale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grizedale Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Grizedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed recently at Grizedale Lodge and were looking for a quiet, relaxing couple of nights away and got just that. The accommodation was top quality and attention to detail superb. Clean, friendly and Richard and Deb couldn't do enough for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LancsbutYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

I am pleased you had a relaxing stay and you felt that you had great service - thank you.
All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Grizedale Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 374 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We returned to Grizedale Lodge this February to find new owners, Richard and Debs and a lot of changes to the place from our last stay. The improvements that they have made so far have made the place even more beautiful than we remembered it, it is cosy and welcoming and we just loved our visit! Richard and Debs are wonderful hospitable hosts who made our stay a memorable one, always at hand to offer advice and suggestions!

Having a beautiful sitting room now for guests to relax in after a day of walking was a real treat. The log burner is a wonderful touch (Richards pride and joy!) to a room with a magnificent view, giving the room that warm relaxing feel where you could just nod off or play games with other guests or just read a book.

The food was really fantastic, a good hearty breakfast to start the day and the wholesome home-made evening meals now on offer were well worth dining in for. Richards fresh bread and olives really satisfied the taste buds!!

We love coming to Grizedale lodge, not only for its beautiful walks and scenery on the doorstep but for a really well catered relaxing break away from it all, where nothing is too much trouble, but it also has plenty to offer if you want the activities right on your doorstep such as the go ape just down the road!

We will be returning again and would strongly advise you to go and stay at Grizedale lodge as it really is a magical place!!

Thank you to Richard and Deb for our very special stay!
James and Jane

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesandJane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you such a positive and thorough review of your stay. I am pleased you both liked and appreciated the changes we have made so far - but there are still more to do, so watch this space!
Debs has continued to extend her evening meal menu and has now been asked or more than 1 occasion if she would publish her recipes for her dishes - what an accolade! I look forward to meeting you again soon. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just come home from a long weekend at grizedale lodge me my partner and our dog. We were pleasently welcomed by Richard and Deb and was made to feel at home. The hotel is spotlessly clean our bath tub shone! the hotel its self is just up my street very country with a twist of modern, very nice indeed! The sitting room is so stylish and cozy we sat and read infront of the fire on saturday afternoon and we over looked grizedale forest so cozy!
The breakfast is first class but down to earth and very welcoming and the service is second to non. Our dog was also treated to bacon bits every morning for her breakfast :-) Dogs are not allowed in the dining room or the sitting room but thats understandable, the sitting room is too beautiful for a stinky dog ha ha. I recommend this hotel 100% you will not be disapointed.....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel27777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for such a great review. It is very encouraging for Debs and I when guests feel really at home and are able to relax and and enjoy themselves, and appreciate whet we are striving to deliver to our guests. I hope to see you again sometime. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a such a relaxing weekend at the lodge. Richard and Debs are great hosts and really do make you feel at home, nothing is too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and spacious even with an extra bed, and spotlessly clean. The location is absolutely stunning with Grizedale forest literally on the doorstep. The food was delicious and we ate at the lodge two of the three nights we stayed, Debs is an excellent cook and the food is restaurant quality. This really is a fantastic B & B and such a credit to Richard and Debs. We can't wait to return at Easter, thanks again to you both.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanVickiZach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much especially as you had booked to come again before you had actually stayed - that shows real confidence and piles on the pressure. I look forward to seeing you again at Easter. All the best Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

..........but in the warm cosy shelter of Grizedale Lodge it's better than spring!
With the roaring wood burner and the friendliness of Richard, Deborah and the othe guests, it was the perfect way to start the New Year.

When we booked we were warned of disruption within the house, as they are "refreshing" some of the bedrooms, I have to say that I heard, saw or felt no disruption at all and the standard and attention to detail was as good as the first time we stayed in 2011.

The weather was actually quite mild for the time of year and we were able to enjoy the surrounding scenery whilst walking (being pulled by) our eager dog.

Hawkshead supplied all the retail support we NEEDED during our stay, but I have to admit that the trip to Keswick provided a much greater choice and some great bargains.

The evenings infront of the wood burner, meeting the other guests, the excellent food, the great service and the scenery were definitly the best bits of this break. The worst bit.......
Leaving!

Thanks Richard & Debs, we're just checking our diaries to see when we can get back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlyfrog27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your response and the fact that you enjoyed your stay so much, we look forward to welcoming you again - as you have now already booked for a spring break. All the very best Richard & Deb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent a weekend at the Lodge in October, we were the first to try out the Winter Warmer offer..which was very good value. Rooms are clean and tidy, very comfortable, lovely new addition since our last visit, is the fireside lounge, very cosy indeed. There is a nice decking area outside, which in the summer will be lovely. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast tariff. Lovely heary breakfast, ideal before you start off on your walk, and as we were on the winter warmer offer, we got a packed lunch as well. Evening meal was absolutely delicious, all credit to the owners wife, it was as good as any restaurant, well cooked with fresh ingredients, and nicely presented.That was the same for all 3 courses. Wine is available as well at a reasonable price, and in the lounge plenty of tea and coffe, and an honesty bar. Great addition to the lodge, avoiding the drive out to look for dinner . Plenty of parking. The hosts are extremely friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed the newly started winter deal offer, so thank you for your kind feedback. The Balcony is excellent for the summer and a great place to relax with a drink when the sun is out. I hope you are able to return again some time. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed with family for a weekend DBB break. Richard is a great host with his wife Debbie providing excellent food. Our room was spacious, with plenty of space for the two temporary beds for the kids. Like the rest of the property it was clean and nicely furnished; on a cool evening the lounge, with wood burner was very cozy. Debbie's cooking was excellent, with a varied menu. My wife really enjoyed the vegetarian meals, and kids the home made burgers and pasta.

Lots of small touches add to the experience - TV's with DVD's and a DVD library entertain the kids for an hour, lots of magazines to read, decent toiletries and an honesty bar. The bird feeders outside were a nice touch, with finches and a woodpecker seen at breakfast.

The location is great for biking at Grizedale just 2 minutes away, but also well situated for reaching other areas for walking - e.g. Langdale is less than half an hour away.

Overall, a polished offering from owners who really take great care in looking after guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rengley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay and that all the little finishing touches Debs has introduced were appreciated. The aim is to provide a home from home for our guests - and we will continue to build on this. I hope you are all able to visit again. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grizedale
5.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,319 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizedale Lodge

Address: Grizedale LA22 0QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grizedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grizedale
Price Range: $119 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grizedale Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizedale Lodge is a former hunting lodge set in the breathtaking setting of Grizedale Forest, just two miles from the famous village of Hawkshead, with its quaint historic shops, pubs and restaurants. Under new ownership since April 2011, this friendly high quality guest house welcomes walkers, cyclists, couples and families alike. Home cooked breakfast is included,; there's free parking on-site and well behaved dogs are welcome at a small charge. Grizedale Lodge recently gained a TripAdvisor award for achieving exceptional reviews on a continual basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grizedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizedale Hotel Hawkshead
Grizedale Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing