We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”
Review of Grizedale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grizedale Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Grizedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Grizedale Lodge is in an absolutely stunning location and has fantastic views out over the forest.
It is an old hunting lodge, and the owners have modernised really tastefully so that it is warm, welcoming and homely.

We had only booked one night, and upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Richard who showed us to an upgraded room - which was a very nice gesture. The room we had was spacious, spotless and really comfortable and had fantastic views into the fields and forest. The room had good in-room tea/coffee and fresh milk available from the fridge downstairs. The room also had a good Roberts radio.

There is also a lovely lounge to relax in and a bar where you can help yourself and fill in the honesty box. In winter the lounge must be great as there is also a good log burner. There is also a great raised outdoor terrace for when the weather is fine.

Grizedale Forest is a mountain biking paradise and Richard showed us where we could store our bikes while visiting, and wash them down if needed.

We didnt eat dinner at the Lodge, but when we smelled the cooking we really wished we had.
Hawkshead village is a short drive away where there are pubs with dining rooms

Breakfast is served in a lovely room where you can watch a whole variety of birds come down to feed on the terrace. The choice at breakfast was sensational - both in cold and cooked foods. Richard does the waiting on and his wife Debs the cooking. I have to say my cooked breakfast was perfect - great attention to detail and everything cooked just the way I like. Just like back home, but somebody else doing it! Service was brilliant.

Nothing was too much trouble for Richard. He even contacted the Hawkshead Brewery for us to find out opening times, and gave us maps for cycling.

This is a great place to stay - go there an enjoy and relax.
I cant wait to go back - but next time it will be for longer than one night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Manager at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. We have always wanted to create that 'home from home' feel so we are glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully next time you can stay longer? All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 383 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful week in this lovely B&B. Care and attention by the owners was great in every detail from food, cleanliness of the rooms, fresh flowers and overall furnishing and decoration. Looking out, views of the forest and surrounding fields, many wild birds feeding from the bird feeders and local cows who seemed interest in watching us, was all amazing. A great place for relaxing break to get back to nature in beautiful countryside. In the evening in the lounge the roaring log fire was great, along with the company of other visitors and the owners and the well stocked drinks fridge.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which had a large bed for comfort in sleeping, facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maverick2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the sitting rooms in the evening with the roaring wood burner, and as you say just talking with other guests. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have just spent two relaxing nights at grizedale lodge. Everything about our stay was perfect lovely room with great view and really comy bed, perfect hosts and tasty food. We took our mountain bikes and got in a couple of bike rides and walks at the grizedale forest visitor centre, the fact that the lodge is literally two minutes away was fab and meant I could sneak back for a cuppa while my other half fit in an extra ride, there was a hose to wash down bikes and an area to lock them up. We arrived early and had pre arranged to park up at the lodge while we did a bike ride, richard kindly let us check in early as our room was ready which was really appreciated. We definitely feel like we have recharged our batteries this weekend and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. The location next to the Grizedale Visitor centre and the start of many walks and cycle trails is very convenient and then back for a hot bath if the going gets wet/muddy. It is also a great relaxing place to recharge your batteries, so please remember to come and see us again. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just spent a few nights at grizedale lodge and are already planning to return. The attention to detail is second to none, the food is superb and the welcome is warm and genuine. Walking distance to some great activities. Our two children (11 & 9) also thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiebabesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you all enjoyed stay and that both the children also liked the visit. Most of the finishing touches are down to Debs - so I am glad you noticed and appreciated them. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We only stayed for one night as we live in the area and family were staying there while visiting us. We loved it so much we both agreed we would visit again just the two of us and will certainly be recommending it to both family and friends in the future. Richard and Deb both seemed very friendly and welcoming, it's in a lovely location, the rooms were lovely and very clean and to top it all off the food both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeannaBussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is great to see that even people who live in the Lakes appreciate what the lodge and its location has to offer - as well as Deb's excellent cooking! I hope you are able to come again sometime soon. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a fantastic example of a country B&B. The house is charming and well decorated. Richard and Debs go the extra mile to meet your requests and ensure a successful stay. The breakfast was amazing, with lots of variety and veggie options. Rooms are nicely appointed, large, and very quiet.The only regret we had was not eating dinner at the Lodge. This was one of the few places that offered home cooked veggie options, which is not only difficult to find at a B&B, but rarely prepared by a veg chef. The position is very close to the Grizedale forest and all activities, but also super easy to get around to Windermere, Ambleside, Coniston, etc. by car, which we did daily. Nicely tucked away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. How nice to comment on the lovely smells of the evening meals, even though you didn't sample them. At least you know what to expect next time you visit. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely stay here and it's the first time I have felt I should write a review. We have found a gem of a place in the lakes after staying at many other b&bs over the years . Beautiful location , wonderful warm welcome ,food was gorgeous and rooms very clean . Our 2 young boys absolutely loved it and didn't want to come home . A big thank you to Richard and Deborah for being such wonderful hosts. Will definitely recommend and come back .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardgrizedale, Owner at Grizedale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am glad you were able to extend your stay and make the most of your visit, and of course now the boys will know their way around much better next time - having discovered the DVD's! I look forward to meeting you all again soon. All the best Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grizedale
5.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,178 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,043 reviews
6.3 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizedale Lodge

Address: Grizedale LA22 0QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grizedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grizedale
Price Range: $120 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grizedale Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizedale Lodge is a former hunting lodge set in the breathtaking setting of Grizedale Forest, just two miles from the famous village of Hawkshead, with its quaint historic shops, pubs and restaurants. Under new ownership since April 2011, this friendly high quality guest house welcomes walkers, cyclists, couples and families alike. Home cooked breakfast is included,; there's free parking on-site and well behaved dogs are welcome at a small charge. Grizedale Lodge recently gained a TripAdvisor award for achieving exceptional reviews on a continual basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grizedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizedale Hotel Hawkshead
Grizedale Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing