We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food after a hard day's walking”
Review of Amelies

Amelies
Ranked #13 of 25 Restaurants in Porthleven
Price range: $10 - $58
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The freshest ingredients sourced from the best local suppliers. A relaxed, waterside atmosphere where you can sit back and relax. Service that's memorable for all the right reasons. At Amelies, Porthleven and sister company Gourmet Picnics we share the same ethos which runs through everything we do. Come and experience it for yourself. Please note in the winter season we do close on a Monday day and Tuesday day, re-opening Tuesday evening.
Risborough,UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb food after a hard day's walking”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stopped in Porthleven whilst doing the SWCP and had originally planned to go to Kota. Stumbled across this lovely gem of a place and had no regrets. We hadn't booked but they kindly found us a table. Food was excellent and for two hungry walkers definitely good portion sizes. Sadly they had run out of the lovely Rose we were drinking, so a second bottle was not to be had - but it was a Sunday night after all. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nellli40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    259
    144
    121
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food but very slow”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good situation on the harbour front with tables inside and outside. Menu offers a nice range of pizza, pasta, fish, burgers - something for everyone. The staff are welcoming and the food enjoyable.

The negative was the time taken to serve food - it was a busy evening and perhaps there are too many tables v kitchen capacity? Pizza is a fast dish to cook but we were waiting ages - I hate to be rushed on a meal but this was something else!

I would go back again as the place and food were nice, but would be wary of recommending to someone without warning them about speed of service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault a thing - moules were deliciously flavoured, crab was sweet. Desserts were tasty. Portions just right.
Service was friendly, efficient and genuine.
Good atmosphere, busy but not overpowering.
Has a nice feel to the place.
Well recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneHDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great service and setting”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

very warm and friendly staff - didn't mind at all when we asked to move seats (from outside to in), and checked on us throughout our meal, always being extremely polite. Speed of food good. Good buzz (saturday eve). Starter - Woodsmoked flatbread / oil - very tasty but HUGE (is this in response to previous trip advisor complaints of starters being too small??!). However, this was redeemed by staff happily boxing up for us to take home. My wife had pizza (etna) which was HUGE again, but mediocre. Again though, the waitress was very happy to box up leftovers. My fish of the day (pollock) was a nicely constructed dish, although the fish was ever so slightly overcooked. However this was made up for by the amazing lemon butter!!!! Lovely dessert (shared) - sticky toffee pudding - with icecream added on request. Very nice NZ sauvignon blanc. By and large a nice meal. Price was very fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BranHix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate...for good food, go to Amelie's”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were in Porthleven earlier this week, and after browsing the available alternatives, chose Amelie's for our evening meal, on the basis of the interesting menu (we love our food, and won't accept 'average grub'). What a great choice ! The food was indeed fresh and tasty, and the service impeccable. So even without the lovely view, this was already the right choice. Bravo Amelie's ! Keep your standards this high! You deserve your success........

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidSuzanneBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelies also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Amelies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing