We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever.”
Review of Kota Restaurant

Kota Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Awarded a Bib Gourmand in the Michelin Guide 2013, Kota is also proud to be recognized by the Good Food Guide, Harden’s Restaurant Guide, the Trencherman’s Guide, Square Meal and the AA (with one Rosette). Kota is also part of Cornish Accredited Restaurants and has been praised many times in both local and national editorials, including The Times and The Telegraph. Kota was named in the Top 50 Summer Restaurants in Britain in August 09, and voted ‘The Big Eat’ in the top 10 pan-Asian eateries July 2008.)This publicity, together with word of mouth, attracts many locals, as well as foodies from Padstow, Bristol and London seeking a weekend of fun, fine dining and stunning coastal walks. And don’t miss out on a ‘Storm-watching’ break during those wild winter months (great B&B deals to be had!Chef/owner Jude Kereama is a New Zealander who has won awards for his restaurants in both London and Auckland before moving down to Cornwall.Kota specializes in organic fish and farm produce and has an exciting daily changing menu.Kota is Maori for shellfish (Jude is half Maori, quarter Chinese and quarter Malaysian) and the restaurant is renowned for its stunning seafood with Jude’s signature light Asian twist.Jude and his wife Jane, who started as a protégée of Antony Worrall Thompson 20 years ago, are passionate about wine as well as food and have created an enticing wine list of over 90 wines from all over the world. Even Decanter Magazine has praised it!There is a lovely bar area where guests can enjoy fine wine, cocktails, cold beer or a warming digestif.Don’t forget to book a room so you can truly relax!
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best ever.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was a return visit to Kota.

Last visit was great. This time the food was absolutely fabulous.

It is impossible to fault this meal at all. Full marks to the Chef.

Service & timing was good.

The ambiance was good and the spacing of tables was well spread out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cpizzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    76
    25
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Thursday's Meal”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Ate here on the Thursday of our weeks stay in Porthleven. Food and service is amazing here. Amuse bouche was yum. Tomato salad and Scallops were very flavoursome as were the pork and hake. Panna cotta was tasty but the star of the evening was the chocolate fondant dessert with peanut butter mousse, praline ice cream and caramelised banana. Yum, yum, yum! This restaurant is more fine dining than some of the others so you get smaller portions and it's a bit more expensive, but the flavour of the food is amazing. I do love the food here but given the choice I prefer the flavour of the food at their sister restaurant Kota Kai, but it's a close thing as they are 2 totally different experiences. If in Porthleven, I would definitely recommend both. Well done to all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another brilliant meal at Kota”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our third visit to Kota over the last year, whilst visiting Cornwall. We were not disappointed. There is a consistency in the quality of their food that you expect from good restaurants. There are a balance of choices, the fish is always excellent they have some interesting twist with an Eastern touch, one of their salads is a particular favourite. The desserts are very moreish and finish off the meal perfectly. The atmosphere and service are both very good. Looking forward to next trip to Porthleven.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annettebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Flawless meal ”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal at Kota last night, the service was great and the duck main course was absolutely beautiful. Relaxed atmosphere and always so welcoming. Definitely be back soon!

Helpful?
Thank Srs4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome puddings”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My family and I where in Cornwall last week on holiday and where recommended this restaurant by the people who owned the cottage we were staying in. The food was seriously good beautifully presented and the pudding we all had chocolate fondant with peanut butter mousse and salted caramel ice cream was out of this world. It was also a lovely surprise to find cloudy bay on the wine menu so we had to treat ourselves. All the staff were so helpful and even accommodated my 6 month old daughter. Who I am pleased to say was quite the whole evening would go back in a heart beat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jovi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kota Restaurant also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Kota Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing