We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Dining Experience”
Review of Kota Restaurant

Kota Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Porthleven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Awarded a Bib Gourmand in the Michelin Guide 2013, Kota is also proud to be recognized by the Good Food Guide, Harden’s Restaurant Guide, the Trencherman’s Guide, Square Meal and the AA (with one Rosette). Kota is also part of Cornish Accredited Restaurants and has been praised many times in both local and national editorials, including The Times and The Telegraph. Kota was named in the Top 50 Summer Restaurants in Britain in August 09, and voted ‘The Big Eat’ in the top 10 pan-Asian eateries July 2008.)This publicity, together with word of mouth, attracts many locals, as well as foodies from Padstow, Bristol and London seeking a weekend of fun, fine dining and stunning coastal walks. And don’t miss out on a ‘Storm-watching’ break during those wild winter months (great B&B deals to be had!Chef/owner Jude Kereama is a New Zealander who has won awards for his restaurants in both London and Auckland before moving down to Cornwall.Kota specializes in organic fish and farm produce and has an exciting daily changing menu.Kota is Maori for shellfish (Jude is half Maori, quarter Chinese and quarter Malaysian) and the restaurant is renowned for its stunning seafood with Jude’s signature light Asian twist.Jude and his wife Jane, who started as a protégée of Antony Worrall Thompson 20 years ago, are passionate about wine as well as food and have created an enticing wine list of over 90 wines from all over the world. Even Decanter Magazine has praised it!There is a lovely bar area where guests can enjoy fine wine, cocktails, cold beer or a warming digestif.Don’t forget to book a room so you can truly relax!
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went on a truly miserable wet, windy evening but we were welcomed warmly by the staff at the restaurant. Had a lovely window table and the staff were attentive with out over doing it. The ambience of Kota restaurant was just right and particularly the lighting was, nothing is worst than eating a beautifully presented meal in bad lighting so that you can not appreciated the skill of the chefs work. The dishes were amazing and I chose fish for both courses which were fabulous to look at and to eat. Both dishes were decorated with edible flowers which I have to say was a first for me. Desert for me was the chocolate fondant that we needed to wait 20 mins, but I tell you it's worth the wait - heaven on a plate. Just to clarify the desert was made to order and you appreciate the wait to enjoy your final dish. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine with our meal at reasonable price. Overall a truly fabulous experience and one that we hope will be repeated again!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ward5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    76
    25
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beware of ordering from the set menu”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although we had starters from the main menu, I selected the main course from the set menu. (Paying the appropriate upgraded price). It was advertised as a pan fried fillet of fish and a sea food risotto. I anticipated small pieces of fish in the risotto, however, it was only cooked in fish water, served with 4 mussels. It was extremely bland and relied on the small fillet of fish for flavour. The starters and my husband's vegetarian fish and chips from the main menu were delicious, so I think it was my mistake ordering from the set menu without the benefit of set menu prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ggirl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Truly scrumptious......”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food and service at Kota Restaurant is among the best I've ever experienced. Delicious plates of melt in the mouth food, with wonderful flavours. The service is excellent, with attentive staff that have got it just right. It all seems effortlessly put together to deliver the best experience but this level of food and service must have taken a lot of time, money and effort. Whether it's for a special occasion, holiday, or just because....... Please visit Kota, I feel you'll have missed out on something special, if you don't......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have been coming to this Restaurant for years and it was my favourite Restaurant but sadly i don't think i will go again. There is not enough quantity in the main courses and there was an hour's wait imbetween the starters and main course. The restaurant was not busy and there were only 5 of us. This is the experience we had a couple of years ago but decided to give it a go again only to have the same experience unfortunately. Having said that the quality and presentation of the food remains good and i have always found the waitresses friendly and proffessional. The service of the main course is just to slow though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross4425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome sign of the times”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family being from Cornwall and having holidayed there as a child, it is wonderful that among the pubs and pasties there are springing up some wonderful restaurants. This is one. Buzzing on a night in late August with friendly informed staff and excellent sophisticated but unfussy food, much locally sourced, It was a wonderful place for a special family dinner. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonBoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kota Restaurant also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Kota Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing