We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor management.”

The Rockpool Seafood Bar & Grill
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Seafood Bar & Grill. Right on the beach at Gwithian. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner until late. Outside seating, dog friendly, surfer friendly, music nights. What more could you ask for in the idyllic surroundings of Gwithian beach on St Ive's Bay.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“poor management.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

visited Clay Quay last week during a family holiday to Porthleven, booked 4 days prior anticipating a lovely evening sat up on the roof terrace overlooking the historic harbour.
arrived early and shown to our table, unfortunately another customer was seated there already , much to the waitresses surprise. we waited , ordered wine, drank wine, a table beside us asked if they could eat as they had not booked, the waiter said he needed to check to see if the table was free...... he returned and told them it was not booked and they could dine there. we were then told that we would have to eat downstairs.
we followed the waitress down stairs, where we were the only people.
we did ask to see the manager who discounted the bill by £8.
We do not understand how there can be so much confusion/lack of communication in a relatively small restaurant.
The saving grace was the food, compliments to the chef, food was fab, shame about the lack of management.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Public Relations Manager at The Rockpool Seafood Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our food. Your review has been shown to the Clay Quay team with one thing in mind, learn from it. We are truly disappointed that you were not treated in the manner to which Clay Quay customers should be accustomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    28
    23
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok food, terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I brought my family here expecting good food and at least friendly service. However, upon seating a waitress quickly set upon us trying to push a bottle of wine. On being told that we were quite happy choosing our own wine she rolled her eyes and then took over 15 minutes to return with wine and water. We placed an order for 9 dishes between 6 of us, 8 came out. No-one came to check whether our food was ok so I went to the kitchen front and asked if the remaining halloumi slider was on its way. I was told that it was and sat down, another 5 minutes later we were finally asked if the food was ok and again I asked whether the halloumi was coming - I was told curtly and with more rolled eyes that it would be brought out after we had finished - a bit strange considering it was one very small dish. I then spotted the same waitress disappearing off down the street on her phone. When the dish did come out and we had finished everything else, the vegetarian among us was subject to a thrown together mini bap with under grilled halloumi seemingly thrown in it. The deep-fried monk fish was very nice as were the chorizo scallops, risotto and crab. The pork belly was positively repulsive, a slimy mess with jelly like crackling - very poor. All in all the service ruined an ok meal, I was embarrassed to bring my family here and would not eat here again. I should have taken account of the sign outside saying "Staff found smoking in this area will instantly dismissed"* as a warning that there is something wrong with either the staff or the management here.

*Evidently walking out down the street on your mobile phone past the diners you are serving is acceptable

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Public Relations Manager at The Rockpool Seafood Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. The Clay Quay team are disappointed that some elements of your meal were not up to scratch. It is a principle of our owners to try and employ young local people as much as possible. Sadly these days it is difficult to recruit and retain people with the right skills. As with any team we try to improve our performance by constantly looking out for skilled players to join us.We are determined in this aspect to succeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

went for an evening meal with family,last wednesday ,10 in all. the choice of meals was extensive and we opted for a taster menu, which was a winner for all at the table, excellent. i don't often send a review but feel the need to give praise when it is due. thank you at Clay Quay for a lovely surprise .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Public Relations Manager at The Rockpool Seafood Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
The Clay Quay team would like to say a big thank you for taking the time to acknowledge their hard work. THANK YOU!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cold food, cold service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

With a pleasant view over the harbour my wife and I decided that it would be nice to splash out and give this place a try. Although the waiting staff were very nice, after a very long wait for our food it came to us almost stone cold. When I made the management aware of this, rather than apologising and rectifying the problem, they said that we had let the food go cold and there was nothing that they could do. Ridiculous! When you are paying as much as this you expect better service. Needless to say we won't be going back.

Helpful?
7 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Public Relations Manager at The Rockpool Seafood Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately I can find no record of this incident. As all food is cooked fresh I find it hard to understand a dish getting cold. We have had complaints of cold food before but that was due to the customer being unaware that it was supposed to be served cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Brilliant service - fast and considerate without being overbearing. The food was amazing. Great pork belly main and a crab on toast starter - plenty of meat was given. Good selection of drinks available

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Public Relations Manager at The Rockpool Seafood Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed the food. Do come again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rockpool Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing