We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely carvery roast, friendly service”
Review of Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Porthleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely carvery roast, friendly service”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited the harbour inn for a carvery on a busy Sunday. The staff were very friendly & helpful nothing was too much trouble. I had roast beef,I was given lots of beef, there was a wide selection of vegetables & it tasted amazing. Will be returning again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasharosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    170
    50
    15
    16
See reviews for
116
208
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Have not stayed here but have to comment on the fantastic Sunday Carvery. This was our 2nd visit and we found it to be excellent quality - one of the best around. Great choice of fresh vegetables, yorkshire puddings and choice of meats - veggie gravy option too. Perfect and great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KANDSC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Enjoying a girls night out in the Harbour Inn I found myself to be very hungry! When I realised it was 8.45pm & the restaurant shut at 9.00pm I decided to order sonething small & easy (didn't want to annoy staff). Much to my surprise they were very happy to cook want ever I wanted off the menu! I eat out in London several times a week at top restaurants but the sirloin steak & chips that I was served was amazing! I ordered a medium steak & it was medium...it beat any London restaurant hands down :) The quality & presentation I will not forget & will definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had a friend stay for the weekend and we at the Harbour Inn, stunning rooms, clean, stylish and accommodating staff. Happy to help. Rooms spacious, great views. Had delicious late supper, well cooked , great tasting and plenty of choice

Room Tip: Speak to the staff, all rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I met some friends at the Harbour Inn for a meal last Friday evening. The staff were very good, and kept the evening flowing along nicely without being in our face. We all really enjoyed our various meals and of course the puddings!!. We were all very pleased with the evening and all agreed that we would go again. A couple of us have visited before and new the standard of the food and care, but for a couple of newcomers, the experience was great and they said they would be taking their families along as the menu was varied and of good value. Well done to all at The Harbour Inn. See you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

my partner and I stayed for one night on valentines night. on arrival we were greeted by the landlord who escorted us to our beautiful room, which was modern, spacious and spotless. cracking atmosphere in the pub and breakfast was fab. we will definitely be back in the summer for another break and would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We dined in your restaurant two days on the trot. Both times there were staff standing around gossiping and rather loudly I must say so. I watched nearly 4 members of staff standing round doing nothing nearly the whole time we were there. If you have time to stand around doing nothing then you have plenty of time to be doing so cleaning!!!

Secondly the food, although the portion sizes were very generous I was not happy to receive a fish pie with had not fish in it. Plenty of prawns but no fish and the mash on top was runny and where there was mash raw and lumpy. The second day I ordered scampi. When it arrived it was over cooked. I never said anything as I'm not one to complain I was disappointed.

As a family we decided that we weren't going to go back during the week we were staying as overall we weren't thrilled with the pub.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Becci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
5.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
572 reviews
5.1 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
797 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
2.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
86 reviews
17.0 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Inn

Property: Harbour Inn
Address: Commercial Road, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Porthleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Inn, Porthleven, is a lively pub situated on the harbour serving fantastic food all year round using fresh local produce. The decor is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. The en-suite hotel style bedrooms are cosy and inviting, blending comfort with character, some enjoy sea views over the harbour. Located, on the Lizard Peninsula (near Helston) with its beautiful beaches, historic harbour and quaint narrow streets of fishermen's homes is the ideal location from which to explore historic Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Porthleven
Harbour Inn Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing