We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family escape”
Review of Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Porthleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Amazing few days away in cornwall. Fab location right on the harbour. We have a family room which was lovely, with a door seperating the kids room (which to their delight had their own television!) Lots of lovely shampoos conditioner etc in the bathroom. Room was spotless as was the rest of the pub. Staff were lovely and very attentive. Food was great. Breakfast was fab, great selection and the kids were in their element with the choice of cereals, yoghurt, toast, jams, fruit, full english... Not to mention the fish and smoked salmon!! We will certainly be returning! Thanks to all at the harbour inn for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluetap2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 511 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Harbour Inn and what a fantastic break we've had. The pub itself is situated right on the harbour side with fabulous views out to sea and is surrounded by glorious coastline. Everybody from the proprieters, Nick and Ruth to the cleaning staff were so friendly. The rooms were spotless and the food in the restaurant first class and the Sunday carvery was to die for. We've already booked another 4 night stay in March. We will definitely be recommending this little gem to all our friends

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous weekend in Cornwall. Been to the area countless times before but first time staying in Porthleven. We were warmly welcomed, our room was totally spotless with lots of little touches that make you feel special and the food great. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We enjoyed a two night stay at the Harbour Inn, and would have given the review 5 out of 5 if we were given a view of the harbour. If you check out my photo of the view from room 10 you will see why.
We didn't let the view worry us, we actually liked the room itself, it was spacious and had all we needed to enjoy our stay. Breakfast was great with a choice of full English, smoked mackerel and smoked salmon. There was also cereals, yoghurt and fruit juices, something for all tastes.
We dined on our final night in the restaurant mainly due to awful weather outside and thought the meals were fine.
We would most definitely stay at the Harbour Inn again, Porthleven is a lovely place to visit with a good choice of restaurants near by..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent 2 days in Cornwall and stayed at the Harbour Inn.
On arrival very helpful staff confirmed our details and showed us to our room.
Room was extremely clean and tidy, the only drawback if you can call it that was the room was very warm for us and this stayed all through the night, they do supply a fan to cool if necessary but when we questioned the heat we were told the whole hotel is very warm.
We were a little disappointed on Saturday morning as we had booked a trip to the Isles of Scilly on the Scillonion and as we had to be there by 8 30 we had hoped to have breakfast as agreed at 7 30 but the breakfast room was still locked so we had to wait until we boarded the ship.
The meals in the Harbour Inn were excellent as well as the selection of St Austell brewey ales and even though we were warned of loud music in the evening it was all stopped by 11 00pm , good Saturday entertainment
Really recommend for a good weekend right on the harbour front, parking was free all weekend probably due to out of season for main tourism

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igwana48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed for just one night only as I was traveling through the area would loved to have stayed longer such a lovely place,easy to park good beer and food free wifi lovely people the room was fine i could hear the Bar but only faintly but this just added to the attmospher of the place, a beautiful view from my room overlooking the harbour which was full of small fishing and pleasure boats all in all this place is a must.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crapau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Thank you for a great Carvery lunch today. The food was really well prepared with lots of fresh veggies. Great choice. My wife and I both had the same, the traditional roast beef beautifully cooked with roast potatoes, yorkshire puddings, wonderful cauliflower in cheese sauce, carrots, peas, sliced potato's all plenty of and beautifully presented. The inn itself is a lovely atmospheric area to sit and enjoy your meal then of course watch the world go by. Unfortunately today due to the possible showers we were unable to enjoy the harbour area which would have been lovely to eat in. We had a drink outside on Saturday when the sun was shining brilliantly and we were able to enjoy the wonderful harbour views.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ColintGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthleven
17 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
497 reviews
16.3 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
669 reviews
0 mi away
Havener's
Havener's
#11 of 25 in Fowey
19 reviews
12.1 mi away
Chain Locker
Chain Locker
#34 of 82 in Falmouth
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Inn

Address: Commercial Road, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Porthleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Porthleven
Price Range: $92 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Inn, Porthleven, is a lively pub situated on the harbour serving fantastic food all year round using fresh local produce. The decor is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. The en-suite hotel style bedrooms are cosy and inviting, blending comfort with character, some enjoy sea views over the harbour. Located, on the Lizard Peninsula (near Helston) with its beautiful beaches, historic harbour and quaint narrow streets of fishermen's homes is the ideal location from which to explore historic Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Porthleven
Harbour Inn Porthleven, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing